Image creation slow with newly built system!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by LostAgenda, Nov 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LostAgenda

    LostAgenda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    Ok, first of all I am using True Image 10. This fact alone may be the cause of my problem.

    I just finished a home built PC for my brother. Here are some specs:
    GABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R
    Intel dual core CPU
    WD 500 GB hard drive
    ATI graphics card
    Zalman CPU cooler
    DVD RW drive
    Corsair 620 wt PS

    I loaded Vista 64 and all his system drivers. I then wanted to create an image before proceeding. I used my TI boot CD, and it loaded just like it always does. It recognized both internal drives just fine. I went to create the image, and all was well until it showed the time remaining of 1.5 hours. This is just a simple Vista install with system drivers installed and that's it. I can create an image on my other system with equal hardware, and 20 gigs on the drive in about four minutes.

    Any ideas what might be going on? Is maybe the mobo too new and not supported by my older version of TI 10? This version works perfectly fine on my other dual core Vista 64 system.

    Any ideas??
     
  2. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    LostAgenda:

    TI 10 is fine, but its recovery environment is Linux and may not contain the drivers needed for your brother's machine since it has newer hardware. A good solution is to create a VistaPE or MustangPE disk, which uses Windows Vista as the boot environment. There are a huge number of drivers available for Vista, so your brother's hardware is likely to be supported natively. You can run TI 10 in this environment and it will run at full speed.
     
  3. LostAgenda

    LostAgenda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    It looks like from your link that Note 2: 64bit versions of Windows are not supported.
     
  4. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    You will have to build VistaPE on a 32-bit system (Vista or XP), but it won't matter after it's built. The boot environment is 32-bit and will work on any PC (with supported hardware). Remember, when booted to the recovery environment, your 64-bit Vista OS is NOT running.
     
  5. LostAgenda

    LostAgenda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    Ok, I understand. My brother actually wants to buy his own copy of True image. Would the newest version of True image support his hardware ok?

    I just don't want to proceed with any software installations on his fresh system until I have an image to fall back on.
     
  6. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    That's a smart move. When I built this system it took 3 days to get everything installed, configured, tweaked, and set up the way I like it. I made images daily, and it was a good thing that I did. Some of the software installations botched things up, but all I had to do was to roll back to yesterday's image file to recover.

    TI 2009 may be all you need. You can find out by downloading the trial version and using it to create a bootable CD. Boot your brother's machine from the CD to see if the recovery version supports his hardware. The trial version has limitations, however. It can back up and restore from Windows for a limited time period. The bootable CD can restore but it can't back up. If you have a spare hard disk you could do test restores and time them to see if the disk I/O runs at normal speeds.
     
  7. LostAgenda

    LostAgenda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    If you can only do restores with the trial boot CD, then that won't work. I don't have any image files created yet on his system to try and restore to check the timing.

    Acronis should have like 5 restore/file creations you can do with the trial boot disk. People need to make sure their hardware is supported.

    I could do an image creation with my TI 10 boot CD, but it looks like it would take a good 1.5 hours to create. Then I could try the TI 2009 trial boot CD to restore the file and see how fast it works.
     
  8. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Trial version of TI2009, like other trial versions, allow you to make images using the Windows component. They can control the trial by having it expire in 30? days. The trial CD is controlled by only letting it restore images. If it could create them then everybody would use the CD and not buy the product.

    You are indeed able to create and restore with the trial for the duration of the time limited period.
     
  9. LostAgenda

    LostAgenda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    Ok, I installed the trial version of True Image home 2009 on my bros new system. It created an image from within windows in 2.5 minutes. I created a rescue CD, and restored the image in 3 minutes. Looks like this new version of TI works great with his hardware.
     
  10. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Good - it sounds like you're in business. For best results, uninstall the trial version before installing the purchased version of TI 2009.
     
  11. LostAgenda

    LostAgenda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    It says I can just enter the key on the trial version. Is that a bad idea?
     
  12. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Perhaps that's another bug that Acronis has fixed in TI 2009, but I wouldn't risk it. There have been lots of posts on the forum where the root cause of the problem has been traced back to a botched upgrade. Uninstalling first is more likely to be successful, but again, maybe they've fixed that little problem in TI 2009.
     
  13. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I think they made the TI 2009 trial to unlock with the purchased serial number. I would try that first before uninstalling, especially if it's working okay.

    Even the purchased version would revert to Trial Mode with the "problem" serial numbers that Acronis issued. Entering the replacement seems to fix the problem.
     
  14. LostAgenda

    LostAgenda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    I had another question, and if I am going against the EULA I totally understand.

    Anyway, I installed True Image 10 on my bros PC. Image creations from within windows work perfectly on his system with this older version of TI. Actually a little faster that TI 2009. However, once again if I use the TI 10 rescue CD, the restore will take over an hour. But, using the TI 2009 rescue CD that I created from the trial, I can easily restore images quickly.

    Can I just use TI 10, and then use the TI 2009 rescue CD to restore the images? Does the TI 2009 trial rescue CD have a time limit built in? Or will it work fine for restoring images created by my older version of TI 10 in the future? I know I can't create images with the trial rescue CD, but that's ok since I can create the images in windows.
     
  15. Faust

    Faust Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    258
    Stop trying to penny pinch and buy TI 2009 - it always amazes me that people spend lots and lots of cash on their PC put loads of precious data on the HD then skimp on a good back up and restore software product. You have your answer, TI 2009 is the way to go - that is all the way and not try to mix and match versions of TI - you just know you will end up regretting it at some point.
     
  16. LostAgenda

    LostAgenda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    I was just trying to save money....yes. I have bought many versions of TI all the way from version 7, si I haven't really been a cheapo user.

    Actually my brother called and commented on how well he likes TI, and wants to go ahead and just buy a copy of 2009 for his new system.

    So, I'm off to go purchase it for him and install it on his new system.
     
  17. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    If so, that's certainly a change from the previous versions.
     
  18. LostAgenda

    LostAgenda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    Yep, the trial unlocked perfectly fine, and works great!!!

    Thank's for all the help you guys!!

    Happy imaging!!
     
  19. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Thanks for confirming, I am now a bit wiser!:D
     
  20. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    I can clarify that the possibility to activate the trial version was implemented for Acronis True Image Home 2009. Nowadays you can just insert the serial number and transform the trial version to a full one.

    Thank you.

    __

    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.