Image backups include FD-ISR Snapshots?

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by twl845, May 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I have a regular backup app I've been using for a few years named Sonic Backup My PC. I see that since I installed FD-ISR and made a secondary snapshot, the secondary snapshot also gets backed up, doubling backup time and size.
    My question is: When I install my imaging app, Whether it's Acronis or a different one, will it image my secondary snapshot as well as the primary when I do a full backup of the C partition?
     
  2. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Short Ans: Yup!
     
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,054

    Hi twl845

    Now you know exactly why I keep my secondary snapshot stripped down and just use it for a place to boot. My real secondary is the archive which is what I copy/update to and from.

    Pete
     
  4. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Pete, Good point! I'll have to work on modifying that secondary. Although my C: drive is 80GBs and only 27GBs used with the secondary. :)
     
  5. flinchlock

    flinchlock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Michigan

    Attached Files:

  6. flimbag

    flimbag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Posts:
    48
    Why didn't I think of this? Now I can get rid of my four snapshots and four archives, all in various stages of installation completeness.
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,054
    Hi Flimbag

    What you might want to do for now, is keep one secondary, stripped down, but keep all the archives, assuming you have external drive space.

    Pete
     
  8. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Keeping archived snapshots, doesn't necessarily mean, you have to keep them also as a bootable snapshot.
    You can have 2 bootable snapshots and 100 archived snapshots with FDISR.
    If you need one of these 100 archived snapshots you restore them in a new snapshot.
    Acadia works that way, he has 20 archived snapshots, but he can only have maximum 10 bootable snapshots.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.