Image Back software

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Ptah, Sep 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ptah

    Ptah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    170
    I have been given a task at work to find a solution for backing up our computers starting with one single pc. I am looking at ATI workstation 9.1 and Symantec backup exec system recovery, which looks just like ghost 12. I have used some imaging programs in the past but with little success. So I need something that can be put on autopilot and I and my boss will have confidence in. So any advise will be much appreciated.

    Thanks, Ptah
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    Take a look at the new version 3 of Shadow Protect(www.storagecraft.com). With it's new incremental imagemanager, you can set it to take 15 minute incrementals during the day, then at the end of the day collapse those into one incremental image for the day. You can set how long you keep the incrementals. Then at the end of the week, it will collapse the dailys into a weekly incremental and so on. All automatically.

    Of course the only way to really have confidence is to test restore.

    Pete
     
  3. Ptah

    Ptah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    170
    Thanks Peter2150, I will take a look at storagecraft. Is there anything I should look out for that could cause problems, like hardware and software conflicts. Today I also posted a problem I am having with my usb devices not being seen which cause a big headache, when you can not use your mouse or keyboard!
     
  4. Defenestration

    Defenestration Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    1,086
    The advantage of Shadow Protect over other imaging solutions is that the boot disk is based on Windows, so any device which is seen/works in Windows will work with the boot disk (theoretically).

    Another very reliable imaging solution (but a bit less feature packed compared to SPD) is Terabyte Unlimited's Image For Windows/Image For DOS/Image For Linux (http://terabyteunlimited.com/imagew.html). A new version 2 is due out within the next month or so and you will get a free upgrade if you purchase now. It doesn't have the incremental manager, but version 2 will have differential imaging and can be controlled from the command-line so you can use Windows built-in Task Scheduler to make automated backups.

    I've found Acronis products to be bloated in size, and they tend to have trouble recognizing some external USB hard drives.

    As Pete says, the best way to decide is to try them out by imaging a few systems and testing restore to make sure it works with your systems.
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    Based on the requirements of the thread starter, the Terabyte software doesn't do the job. Has to be able to run on autopilot. Right now SP3 blows everything else away.

    Ptah. Only thing that might cause any problem might be some exotic disk drivers, something like that. Best thing is to download the eval version and try it.

    Pete
     
  6. Ptah

    Ptah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    170
    I have downloaded the 30 day trial but I think I need to email them for the full version so I can burn the iso to disk.
     
  7. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    You need the full evaluation trial. With the iso you can burn a Recovery CD and you can also use that CD to install ShadowProtect Desktop under Windows on your harddisk. So the Recovery CD has a double usage.
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    Hi Ptah.

    Yes. Use this link.

    Pete
     
  9. Defenestration

    Defenestration Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    1,086
    Terabyte software can be run on autopilot through the Windows Task Scheduler. Admittedly it's not as elegant or as powerful as the SP3 solution, but it's possible.
     
  10. Ptah

    Ptah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    170
    Thanks Peter, I just filled out the form.
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    Never can be sure without testing, but since all IFW has is differentials, I suspect you would feel that on the machine. The SP3 incrementals on my box run in an average of 5 seconds. Never even know it ran. That's huge in the business environment. Also the ability to automatically collapse incrementals wouldn't be there. Having the SP3 imagemanger running I'd venture to say, that it would be impossible to duplicate the same thing with IFW and Task Scheduler.
     
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    It sounds like a nice feature but it would worry me as none of the incrementals have been verified.
     
  13. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    I do periodically verify. Never had a problem, or failure to restore. My lack of worry comes from repeated testing and restoring.
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  15. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i was looking through a linux magazine the other day and they mentioned some backup and/or imaging software that was free for home use, but was really expensive for commercial use, it was about £1,000 :eek: it worked with windows and unix like OS's. i can't find the article now :mad:

    i just noticed you don't want it for home use lol

    i found these links, i don't do backups so i'm not an expert lol -
    http://sourceforge.net/projects/backuppc/ i'm not sure how developed this is, but this next sourceforge project seems to have more activity -
    http://sourceforge.net/projects/areca/
    http://ask.slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=07/01/04/0336246
    http://www.zmanda.com/download-amanda.php

    http://sourceforge.net/projects/g4l
    http://www.backupcentral.com/compon..._Linux_&_Windows_Bare-Metal_Recovery_with_G4L

    i've used this next one with linux and it's really easy to use, but it was slow when i used it. it can do incremental backups.
    http://www.cis.upenn.edu/~bcpierce/unison/
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2007
  16. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    @Defenestration:
    Hey:
    :eek:
    No criticism will be tolerated: you are on watch :D

    Where how why which what when o_O
    Just need to spin the propeller a bit faster to get there :D

    Seriously:
    agree TOTALLY re ATI: I suspect because I never used it in past that I dont hold it as some sacred shibboleth ( see DSLR polls :rolleyes: ) I dont doubt that for many it is highly successful

    Is there some specific feature missing in Terabyte that you have noticed by comparison? ( to quote the belgian master: "it's just software..")
    regards
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2007
  17. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    I saw and responded to that post. All I can say is a) if the enterprise users who had the input into SP3 felt this a concern, they would have requested it, and I'll bet it would be there. and b) based on my use and testing of Shadow Protect, it doesn't concern me a bit.

    I do cover the hardware issue with images on more than one drive per machine, but that would apply to any program.

    The real key to using something on autopilot is not having it interfere as well as being reliable. You can let the imaging run on autopilot, and then do, occasionally what I just did and manually verify the collapsed chain.

    I am using it, relying on it and the incremental stuff has already saved me from a corruption problem. I just don't find it an issue.
     
  18. Ptah

    Ptah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    170
    I installed the full evaluation but something is wrong. When the program is started I receive a connection error (error connecting to server. Class not registered) and all areas under task are grayed out except explore backup and dismount backup image. Also the icon in the taskbar is red, has this happened to anyone.
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2007
  19. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    That clearly sounds like a bad install. Try booting the CD to see if you can tell if the iso you downloaded is good.

    Also you didn't install the server edition by mistake. Both Desktop and server editions are on the cd.

    Pete
     
  20. Ptah

    Ptah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    170
    No I installed the desktop version also I forgot to mention that I am currently using a vista box for this install and during the installation vista said that the desktop protect agent had stopped working and the programs needs to be shut down. I will uninstall the program and clean all registry entries before reinstalling.
     
  21. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    DId you install with full administrator rights.
     
  22. Ptah

    Ptah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    170
    No, I forgot to right click and give admin rights to installation.
     
  23. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    That probably is your problem. Try it again, and do that.
     
  24. Ptah

    Ptah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    170
    Same problem, I will turn off UAC before installation and turn it back on after and see if that is the cause. For now it is time to get some shut eye, good night all.
     
  25. Ptah

    Ptah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    170
    Same problem when UAC is turned off!!!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.