Image archives on CD are always corrupted

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by SmartyX, Jun 4, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SmartyX

    SmartyX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hello everybody,

    I purchased Acronis TI this week and I think it's a great program, but I'm having problems with the images I burn on CDR or CDRW.
    The image archive files (700MB) on my second harddisk are OK, I even restored one succesfully yesterday.
    But the same archive files that I burned on CDR and CDRW are always corrupted or they give read errors. I browsed the forum and found similar problems, but no solutions.... I hope someone can help me with this.

    Some details:

    With the latest version of TI (613), I made a full image of my C:\ disk (WinXP Home & all programs). I created it on my second HD, TI makes 3 files of 700MB.
    Then I burned the files with Nero 6 on Philips CDRW 700MB and TDK CDR 700MB (low speed, no multisession, and closing the discs)
    I checked the images several times running TI in Windows and also starting TI from the bootable rescue disc. Also in both CD stations: AOpen CRW2440 and LG CDROM. The image on HD is always "verified succesfully", but the CDR(W)'s always give me read errors, or the CD hangs, or TI says "the image is corrupted."
    This happened with two complete images I created. I had to restore once, and during restoring from CD I also got the errors.
    Luckely, restoring the image from my second HD was a piece of cake, very fast, and no problems at all. :)
    So I still like True Image, but I am not completely happy..... :oops:

    I appreciate every help.
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2004
  2. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, SmartyX

    Welcome to Wilders Security Forums ad Acronis TrueImage Forum.

    Did you Number them.

    You must put the Last disk made.

    In FIRST to resore an Image.

    Take Care.
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  3. SmartyX

    SmartyX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Thanks for the reply, TheQuest.
    Yes, I numbered the discs, and inserted the last one first. It isn't possible to check a spanned image when you insert them in the wrong order, True Image will ask you to put the last volume first.
     
  4. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, SmartyX


    Your useing the same Burning program as me. [so that not the problem]

    I would try to make the Images 600mb max.

    I now use DVD's but I have done to CD-RW and I chose 550mb max. [no errors]

    But that was my choice and best IMHO.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest. :cool:
     
  5. SmartyX

    SmartyX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Yes, I was thinking of that also: reducing the image file size. I will give it a try with some fresh CD's. I hope this will work, because I am running out of CD's thanks to this True-Image stuff..... :rolleyes:
     
  6. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, SmartyX

    Use CD-RW saves costers.

    Another thing try making the max write speed 10X.

    As most new CD-RW say 12X but seem to cause the errors. [with Ti]

    DVD+RW max speed no probleams. [+ not -] [on my sys]

    Hope this helps you achieve making the Images.

    Good luck anyway,
    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  7. SmartyX

    SmartyX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Netherlands
    YES! A few hours later......and my problem seemes to be solved, although I am not 100% sure.

    I did two things different from what I described in my first post.

    1. I made a new image on my second HD with max filesize of 550 MB
    2. I burned the four files with Nero on CDRW's, but didn't close them.

    I checked the image four times: in Windows on both CD-stations > everything was OK.

    And then I booted with TI rescue CD > checked image on both CD-stations: two times I got an error that I didn't see before: "Error opening the file. Possible reason could be poor media quality. Press retry to continue with next volume."
    When I press "retry" TI says: Put Volume x in and press retry.
    Then I can continue with checking the image!! In the end it says: succesfully verified. So let's hope this is the case...... :doubt:

    Thanks again TheQuest for the tip! :D
     
  8. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, SmartyX

    Yes I know what you mean. [scaring :eek: ]

    Dont know why though. [may be old drive]

    They should be alright.

    To be really safe make a full backup to your 2HDD [one full Image]

    That way you can run them and IF they fail.

    The full image is all ways there.

    Glad you have got them sorted.
    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.