IFW Restore, Copy ETC..

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by routerguy99, Apr 25, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. routerguy99

    routerguy99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Posts:
    108
    OK i made some changes to my Hard drives; RE-Image, copy moved cables to make bios and bootit to show correct order
    in BIOS and Boot IT They show Correct;
    Disk 0 BootIT Windows windows
    Disk 1 D Programs
    Disk 2 NEWEEE

    But in windows it all messed up. see attached;
    I cleared Disk Signatures; and reset MBR; but its still the messed up in windows;
    disk 0 D programs
    disk 1 Newee
    disk 2 Bootit windows

    Is there an easy way to fix it ?
    Chris
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,638
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Chris,

    It's "your computer".

    My test and main computer show the three BIOS drives in the correct order in Windows. I have two ASMedia SATA ports in the main computer and six Intel SATA ports. If I plug a data drive into either of the ASMedia ports the drive order in Disk Management becomes messed up with my boot drive becoming last, like yours. So I don't use the ASMedia ports.

    My son has three drives. He has WinXP, Win7 and Win8 on his computer along with BIBM. His boot drive is listed second in all three Disk Managements but it's first in the BIOS and in BIBM.

    In all computers above, the BIOS and BIBM see the boot drive as the first SATA drive.

    Accept it. It's "cosmetic" but annoying.
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    On top of that, Windows doesn't even always use the same order -- it can change from boot to boot. This happens more frequently on some systems than others. Most tend to keep the same "Windows" order, though.
     
  4. routerguy99

    routerguy99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Posts:
    108
    Good to know;
    Thanks for all your input;Help
    Brain_K
    Mudcrab


    Chris
     
  5. routerguy99

    routerguy99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Posts:
    108
    I read about the PNP store where it keeps track of the IDE drivers; ended up all I had to do is either remove the IDE driver; which MS windows will re detect and rebuild the store; or install an updated IDE controller update;

    Fixed it;
    Installed an updated STATA IDE AHCI driver;


    Chris
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,638
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Chris,

    I'm not sure what you did?

    In my son's computer, when I boot a Win7 disk his BIOS HD0 shows as HD2 so I had to remove two HDs to install Windows on BIOS HD0 otherwise the booting files would have been on a different drive to the Windows files.

    Even the Windows PE had reversed drives.
     
  7. routerguy99

    routerguy99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Posts:
    108
    Brain,
    This is what I did; I am not much or writer, so you will have to forgive me.
    It started getting IFW, thought I would create image of my disk 0, test restore function. I thought wow it worked, wonder if the copy function will work, So I thought I am wasting lots of space on disk 0 1 gig I might try the copy and use the 640 gig as disk 0.

    background
    disk 0 1 gig HDD connected to Port 1 on MB
    disk 1 1 gig HDD connected to port 2 on MB
    disk 2 640 gig connected to port 3 on MB
    CDROM connected to port 4 on MB

    1) diskpart
    clean disk 0
    2) launched IFW used the copy and copied HDD disk 2 to disk 0
    3) swapped sata cables on MB disk 0 do disk 2
    New lay out;
    disk 0 640 gig connected to sata port 1
    disk 1 1 gig D drive connected to sata port 2
    disk 2 1 gig New E connected to sata port 3
    Bios shows connection same as New lay out; BootIT show connection same as New lay out, Winpe under disk part so connections same as New lay out.
    Windows blew; all messed up as in post 1 of this thread.
    The fix after reading much about the IDE and PNP, I realized I could
    delete my IDE controller under devices reboot have windows re-detect my hard drives; it worked;
    then I restored thank goodness IFW worked. Then I thought there has to me more to fix this issue;
    I tried winpe boot and delete the cbs.log rebooted and it worked;
    Restored again;
    Installed new version of my IDE controller; it worked;
    I hope this helps.

    Chris
     

    Attached Files:

    • New.PNG
      New.PNG
      File size:
      20.2 KB
      Views:
      115
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2013
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,638
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Chris,

    Amazing. You have fixed it. Microsoft acknowledges there is a problem...

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/937251

    I can't understand why your 640 GB HD was HD0 in the BIOS when it was connected to SATA port 3. Any ideas?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.