If you could only use 1 Security App. what would you use?

Discussion in 'polls' started by SwordOfSecurity, Jan 26, 2006.

?

Which app. would you use?

  1. An Antivirus (specify which product)

    252 vote(s)
    61.5%
  2. An Anti-Trojan (specify which product)

    3 vote(s)
    0.7%
  3. An Antispyware/Anti-malware (specify which product)

    19 vote(s)
    4.6%
  4. Nothing at all!! Just fully patched Windows!! ;D

    13 vote(s)
    3.2%
  5. Other (specify what and which product)

    123 vote(s)
    30.0%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,362
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    SHADOWUSER PRO 2.5, and would activate my windows firewall.
     
  2. it works

    it works Guest

    appdefend
     
  3. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,228
    Location:
    US
    Hmmm, must admit, that's a pretty good one; good thinking! I guess Vista users will be able to say ShadowUser, plus activate my windows firewall, anti-virus, and anti-spyware. :cool:

    Acadia
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    What is the point of a silly question like this. Even sillier then the what if you could only use 4.

    It's silly because no where is it written you can only use one, so what is the point.

    Soooo.... to give my silly answer. I'd use the perfect perfection. The on off switch. Bingo.
     
  5. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    So you must have selected "Nothing at all." :p
     
  6. TNT

    TNT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Posts:
    948
    OpenBSD... or NetBSD... duh... :D
     
  7. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Same here most of the time...usually just running a router (I change ..every couple of months....a lot as I test out various routers and other ICS means).

    I'm fine with just antivirus. I keep windows updated, only do webmail (Google and OWA from work)..so no local e-mail clients, I don't touch P2P apps, Opera for my browser (or FF if I'm running Ubuntu on my laptop) I use Trillian for my messenger, and only hit a few tech websites/forums.
     
  8. spiff5000

    spiff5000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    49
    If it only one I can choose then I'd use Deep Freeze and adapt my Internet behavior accordingly.

    I would have chosen KAV, but imagine how many hours I'd waste if a zero-day ever got thru.

    Spiff5000
     
  9. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    10,014
    Hi,
    I see people answering with non-Windows solutions...
    I guess the point of the thread is 1 app in Windows, right?
    Mrk
     
  10. stefan_c38

    stefan_c38 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Posts:
    18
    Bitdefender
     
  11. oldBear

    oldBear Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Posts:
    37
    Acronis True Image
     
  12. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,750
    Location:
    EU
  13. SwordOfSecurity

    SwordOfSecurity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    Canada
    yeah, forgot to mention its for Windows in this case and i also forgot to add in the poll option for firewalls o_O

    but anyway, interesting input, keep it up! :p
     
  14. Milken

    Milken Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    20
    Easy.. . . Tiny, I say it's a single application(YAHOO). Internet, adware, spyware, viruses, registry, memory, spawning, spoofing, DOS, etc can be stopped with it.

    However, it Tiny doesn't count, I'll go with Linux (use the IPtables, very configurable FREE firewall, comes with everything) and maybe a spyware/adware/virus application, like NOD.

    If that doesn't count, just Linux.
     
  15. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Avast actually suits me fine, have a router for inbound.
     
  16. twig

    twig Guest

    maybe Cyberhawk. Its all im using at present.
     
  17. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    RollBack RX...:D
     
  18. manOFpeace

    manOFpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Posts:
    717
    Location:
    Ireland
    SpyBlockerPro.

    (Maybe still in beta)
     
  19. dadkins

    dadkins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    58
    AV.
    Kaspersky with Extended bases.
     
  20. chrisretusn

    chrisretusn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,484
    Location:
    Philippines
    For me the answer is simple, Anti-Virus. For product I will give the one in use on this machine. AVG Free version 7.1
     
  21. Doc2626

    Doc2626 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Mexico
    I find it interesting that very few are using Norton or Macafee. I use Norton, and have for several years, without any problems. (other than pop-ups, which I have managed to beat with their Suite.:cool:
     
  22. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    Prevx1 here as well
     
  23. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    NOD at this point in time. :cool:
     
  24. <DreamCatcher>

    <DreamCatcher> Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Posts:
    154
    Hi,


    I would probably use a strong firewall like Outpost pro with all the extra features turned on. Then to cover other areas like AV and AT I would use several online services such as those at; Ewido for AT and maybe F-secure for AV.

    So I guess my answer would be 'other'.
     
  25. wolfeyes89

    wolfeyes89 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    nod 32 i have a router so theres no need for a software firewall.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.