If I shut off ZA

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by fred128, Nov 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fred128

    fred128 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Posts:
    152
    I'm very unhappy with ZASS because of the poor ranking of its antivirus. In a few weeks, they are updating it to KAV.
    In the meantime, can I shut down the antivirus in ZA and use the free Antivir?
    Should I also shut down ZA's antispyware too or leave it running?
     
  2. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    The Av is considered competent and running the antispyware component can't hurt. ZASS seems like a decent product to me. I used the Zonealarm with AV till my licence expired at which time I bought a router and NOD.
     
  3. fred128

    fred128 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Posts:
    152
    Thanks for your reply. Reading this forum has made me paranoid.
     
  4. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Fred:
    I also have ZA Pro. I got it only for the firewall in and out functions and I'm happy with it
    For AV I have BD 9 and for SS for ASW. Those are my active screens.

    I turn off the AV of SS and turn off the ASW of ZA pro. You can do the same as I do but use the free Antivir

    As to turning off the ASW in your ZA don't do it unless you have another active ASW program in place.

    I understand Antivir has some screens for ASW so that may be enough for your situation.

    If you are behind a router you are probably okay.

    Once a month I run the SS and the ZA scanners as on demand scanners then turn them off again.

    Don't be paranoid a lot of what you read here is from special situations and high risk surfers.

    Bon Chance
     
  5. fred128

    fred128 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Posts:
    152
    Again, thank you. I did download Antivir and turned off ZoneAlarm's anti-virus. I just want this until They upgrade their anti-virus to Kasperskey anti-virus. I left the antispyware function in ZoneAlarm on.
     
  6. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi, folks: I am using ZASS as well, but turned off its AV and AS for the same reasons you have. For AV part, I installed Avast home (free), for AS I have AVG AS plus and SuperAntispyware. Just to remind you that Antivir free version does not have e mail scanner (where e mail is a major source of virus infection), and it does conflict w/ Avast (preventing Avast from loading some shields). Good Luck.
     
  7. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Good point on the email viruses.

    Fred, since you left the ASW in ZA on, you should enable the email scan both in and out.

    On mine I let BD9 scan incoming and let ZA scan the outgoing email only

    Carry on the good fight!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.