If I block IE from doing anything with Comodo Firewall can I still update Windows?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by cheater87, Dec 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Does the computer need IE active to get Windows updates?
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    never tried it but i think you block it
     
  3. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,907
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. Windows Update - Blue highlight is mine.
     
  4. GrailVanGogh

    GrailVanGogh Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    US
    If you block IE outright with Comodo you should be able to still run Windows Update stand alone program.
     
  5. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,907
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    cheater87, a little clarification is in order. Are you still runing Win XP SP2? If so, my post above applies.

    If you are running Vista or Windows 7, then GrailVanGogh's post applies.
    Re: Windows Update Frequently Asked Questions
     
  6. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    I'm running Windows 7 64 bit.
     
  7. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    So I can auto update no problem if its blocked then?
     
  8. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I use FF as my default browser, and I get my updates fine. Is blocking IE really necessary? There are a few websites out there that still only run correctly on IE. :)
     
  9. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Well I remember Matt said in one of his videos that malware communicates through IE mostly. So I want to cut that connection off.
     
  10. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,907
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Why don't you try it and see? Next Tuesday is Patch Day!
     
  11. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I think if you only use IE when needed on established sites AND you have a good anti-malware app, you'll never get hit. Some folks use IE exclusively and never get hit. Not that I'm pushing IE, I'm a FF man all the way. :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.