If CHX3 drivers won't start -->

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by FadeAway, Mar 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FadeAway

    FadeAway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    USA
    A recent attempt to install CHX3 on an XPPro machine, resulted in repeated
    failures. The CHX drivers would not start. After much trial and error,
    the source was revealed to be avast! anti-virus. Uninstalling avast!
    resulted in a quick and clean install of CHX3. I have never encountered
    this problem before, and have used avast! for many years.

    CHX3 and avast! are happily running together on another machine, but
    both were installed over a year ago.

    I don't know what change in avast! has caused this to occur, but I
    didn't bother to try reinstalling avast!, just switched AVs. FYI.
     
  2. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hi FadeAway,

    Thank you for the report.

    I would expect more conflicts to appear as time goes on, simply because CHX is no longer developed (which is a definite loss).

    Certainly, between the 2, I know my own direction (if needed)
     
  3. Nebulus

    Nebulus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,582
    Location:
    European Union
    FadeAway is right: it doesn't seem to be CHX's fault, because CHX was no longer developed, but avast it was. So the change that triggered the incompatibility was in avast :).
     
  4. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Well, a code change in Avast might have exposed a flaw in CHX's drivers :)
     
  5. Nebulus

    Nebulus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,582
    Location:
    European Union
    Yes, this can also be true.
     
  6. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    Could you reinstall Avast after getting CHX-1 running?
     
  7. FadeAway

    FadeAway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    USA
    While I initially switched AVs without trying to re-install avast!,
    your question prompted me to give it a try. Sooooo, I :

    1. Restored a drive image from last week.
    2. Uninstalled avast!
    3. Installed CHX3
    4. Reinstalled avast!

    and:

    5. CHX Services Status show it to be fully up and running.
    6. avast! with all Providers installed, auto-updated itself and is
    fully operational.

    QED
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.