IEspyad and SpywareBlaster

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by Robyn, Apr 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Robyn

    Robyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,189
    I have IEspyad merged into the registry, I have just updated IEspyad tonight and discovered I had to run SpywareBlaster v3 again as some of the protection was removed after re-merging IEspyads lsit o_O

    Is this a conflict with the programs and am I still as safe running both of them despite the fact one removed the protection I have since re-enabled? :'(
     
  2. Erik Ayala

    Erik Ayala Guest

    Hi, Robyn. I had the same problem with Spybot and Spyware Blaster. My guess is that reinstalling or modifying one program can remove the kill-bits it can set into the registry. I also reenabled all protections and I haven't had a problem since. As for compatibility I have not heard of Spyad. I hope somebody else can answer your question there.
     
  3. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Looks like a database issue to me - no more, no less. Let's see if we can pont the IESpyad developer to this thread. In the meanwhile, I'd recommend enabling all protections.

    regards.

    paul
     
  4. eburger68

    eburger68 Privacy Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Posts:
    244
    Hi:

    This is a known issue with SWB 3.0 and IE-SPYAD. The short story is that IE-SPYAD removes some invalid entries that SWB 3.0 sets and replaces them with valid ones. See this thread over at DSLR for a more complete description of what's going on:

    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,9833441~mode=flat

    Javacool is undoubtedly working on an update that will fix this.

    Best,

    Eric L. Howes

    URL tags added to the link - paul
     
  5. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Eric,

    Thanks for attending this fast - much obliged!

    regards.

    paul
     
  6. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Yep - this is indeed something that will be fixed for SpywareBlaster 3.1.

    So no worries. :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  7. Robyn

    Robyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,189
    Sorry about only getting back now but posted this just before I had to shut down my computer for the night! Thanks for the links and the re-assurrance that I am still protected even though I re-enable SWB after IE Spyad - I will continue to use both now, I was alarmed when I noticed the 'unprotected' item re-listed (thought something had attacked the program on me :oops: )
    Thanks again to everyone.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.