IE7 Beta3 - bad install, or what?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by pvsurfer, Jul 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,400
    Location:
    California - USA
    Yesterday, I installed IE7 Beta3 over my IE6 and I can't get tabbing to work at all. I thought that was it's big improvement, but it's working just like IE6 (in that regard). So I was wondering if there's an option that's deselected, or what?

    Another (very anoying) problem that I have with IE7 is that it 'loses' my login cookies (such as my Wilders Forums) whenever I restart my PC!

    So I'm wondering if I just have a bad install? :doubt:
     
  2. Mem

    Mem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    292
    Sounds like a bad install but you can check the tabs under Tools-> Internet Options-> Tabs settings....

    It sounds like somehow your cookies are being reset to session cookies...some third party aps or xml import files can allow that to happen if you used something like that in the past.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,400
    Location:
    California - USA
    Thanks Mem - my settings are the same as yours, but it still doesn't do tabs! And then there's that lost cookies problem (which I never experienced with IE6).

    Must be a bad install, so I'll remove it and try again!
     
  4. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,400
    Location:
    California - USA
    Well, I removed it and d/l a fresh copy. You guessed it, upon installing that copy I have the same issues. :blink:

    I'm giving up with IE7 Beta3... Think I'll try Firefox and/or Opera.
     
  5. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    good choice :thumb:
     
  6. Texcritter

    Texcritter Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,985
    Location:
    Teesside, North East England
    Hi pvsurfer
    (I don't know if you have tried this)

    To open a new tab from a page link
    you need to press the mouse middle key and ctrl together
    or you can right click and choose open in new tab from the context menu
    Left clicking the link opens the link in the same tab
    You can also select File ... New tab ... then type in the site address
    in the address bar

    When you close IE it should give you the option of re-opening the tabs you
    have open next time it starts
     
  7. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,400
    Location:
    California - USA
    Tex, my mouse doesn't have a middle key and I tried right-clicking, but that didn't do it. Must be some sort of incompatibility in my system, but as the old commercial went, 'I'd rather switch than fight'.

    As there are many members here saying good things about Firefox and Opera, I'm going to try both of them to see which one works best for me.
     
  8. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Sorry to hear that, IE7 is awesome browser, but it is your choise.
    I will just add info about cookies and tabs, which might help later.

    About tab issue, I would sugest to reinstall IE7 following this guide or contact IE Support.
    Also make sure, that Cryptographic Service is running, otherwise werid things can happen.

    I had the same problem, that it looks like my cookies are deleted, then I have found out, that CCleaner is not compatibile with IE7 and by deleting "index.dat", my logins got lost. I do not delete "index.dat" anymore and the cookies problem was fixed. I still wait for CCleaner update.
     
  9. Texcritter

    Texcritter Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,985
    Location:
    Teesside, North East England
    I've tried them both and you shouldn't be dissappointed with either, I use Opera as my second browser but my preferred browser is Maxthon.
    (everyone to his own taste)
    good luck
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 12, 2006
  10. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,400
    Location:
    California - USA
    Thanks, I'll keep this for future reference - but I think I'll wait until Beta4 or RC1. ;)
     
  11. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,400
    Location:
    California - USA
    Different folks, different strokes! ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.