ie4uinit.exe missing

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Joxx, Nov 24, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,128
    Hi.

    Some days ago I had a bunch of Windows updates including IE11. All installed successfully.
    Today I tried to run IE but it wouldn't. Only a blank page for a few seconds (with the IE tabs on top) which then disappeared.
    I noticed in Autoruns that ie4uinit.exe was not found so I presumed it was a corrupted update and uninstalled it.
    Rebooted and IE10 was back. Tried to run it but no luck, the same blanck screen and the same miss of ie4uinit.exe.
    Any ideas?

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

    • a.PNG
      a.PNG
      File size:
      3.2 KB
      Views:
      12
  2. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Have you tried running a system file check scan?

    Run as 'Admin' in 'Accessories' - 'Command Prompt' (Win Vista/Seven). Type sfc/scannow after the flashing cursor in the (DOS-type) Command Prompt window that opens, then press Enter. It will scan your system for missing or corrupted Microsoft system files. If there are any & you are online it should replace them.
     
  3. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,128
    Thanks for the answer.

    Unfortunately the file check scan didn't find a thing.
     
  4. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
  5. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,128
    It didn't help and it didn't hurt:)
    Thanks for trying.
     
  6. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,198
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Have you tried this?
    https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us...ie-10-on/996efb90-71c0-4378-932d-f3fbe7a132f0
     
  7. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I'm pretty sure I just typed in sfc/scannow & it worked.


    Just to make sure nobody gets confused: Run the System File Checker tool (SFC.exe) Microsoft Support

    Plus, as it says at Win 7 Forums If SFC could not fix something, then run the command again to see if it may be able to the next time. Sometimes it may take running the sfc /scannow command 3 or more times to completely fix everything that it's able to.
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2013
  8. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    You're welcome. Some say that it can help to run it a couple of times. It once found & replaced some missing/corrupted files on a laptop of mine.
     
  9. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,128
    Just did, no luck.
    Thanks.
     
  10. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,198
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Pity...anyway, you're welcome Joxx :)
     
  11. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,128
    It worked here as well.

    Did it 3 times, no luck.
     
  12. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I don't ever remember typing it in any different. It has always run for me. It normally doesn't find anything but it's always worth trying. It once found a shed load of things needing replacing on a laptop for me. It rebooted just like an in an update & replaced the files.

    I don't know if this Microsoft Community page helps.
     
  13. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    621
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    The missing ie4uinit.exe is just a false report from Autoruns. Seeing as the entry is in the Wow6432Node, Autoruns looks for ie4uinit.exe in the syswow64 directory and as a result doesn't find it.

    sfc/scannow has always been valid syntax when run from the command prompt, it only needs the space when executed from the Run box.
     
  14. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,128
    You're right. I just found the .exe in System32, I hadn't scroll down far enough.
    So now the title of this thread is redundant but I'm still without IE. I just updated again to IE11 and it still doesn't work.
     
  15. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Thanks for the confirmation. I was starting to wonder about that.
     
  16. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Just a thought, why not roll back all the way to IE9? Then try to update. Failing that all I can think of is to do a system restore to a time before the updates or uninstall the updates & reinstall them one by one to see which one is causing the problems.
     
  17. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,309
    Location:
    England
  18. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,128
    no luck
     
  19. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,128
    Didn't know about that one, thanks.
    Unfortunately no luck.
     
  20. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,128
    Somehow I was missing that restore point, but I had one related to HP Support Assistant which updated a couple of days after the Windows updates. I tried it with no luck, some kind of error.
    Now I'm left with a system image I created right after the Windows updates and before the HP ones. I used it and finally things are back to normal.
    So it wasn't a corrupted Windows update after all but probably HP. I'll have to check if I can safely avoid HP updates from now on.

    Thanks a lot to all who helped.
     
  21. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I'm glad you've got your browser back. You can always hide both Microsoft & non-Microsoft updates.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.