IE-SpyAd error problem

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by cl0ck, Sep 4, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cl0ck

    cl0ck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Southeast Asia
    there are no entries shown on "restricted sites" in IE tools option
    however, i checked regedit under ...\internet settings\domains and the entries are there!
    i did uninstall it before installing the new release and using the .bat file to install
     
  2. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Hey cl0ck,

    In case it's needed later....what operating system are you using and do you sign-on with more than one user ?

    If you sign-on with more than one user....is the problem your seeing showing up when your signed on with the same user that installed IE-Spyad ?
     
  3. cl0ck

    cl0ck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Southeast Asia
    sorry coz i posted that on the wrong sub-forum
    i use XP Home SP1 & IE version6
    i'm the only person using the comp & hence have administrative right
     
  4. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Hmmm....well I do not want to read to much into what you just wrote....but even tho you are the only person using the computer....do you use more than one signin and if so....is that the same user that installed IE-Spyad ?

    When IE-Spyad merges the entries during a .bat install or a simple reg merge....they will show up only for that signed in user under thatCurrent_User's reg key....regardless about the Admin rights.

    Sorry....but these simple questions are important and hope I haven't confused you.
     
  5. cl0ck

    cl0ck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Southeast Asia
    i use the same user login id & it's me also who installs ie-spyad :)

    the reason why i use .bat file to install instead of the reg key is that when i double-click the reg key icon, it opens in notepad and it doesn't seem to be installed
     
  6. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Before we attempt something....have you doublechecked your procedures to make sure you did indeed select the proper menu selection via IE-Spyads install.bat file ?

    If you'd like....we can attempt to re-associate.....reg files with regedit.exe....and then attempt to add IE-Spyads....ie-ads.reg file to the registry.

    Since you have been in the registry.... if you will find the below command key and modify the (Default) Data value to be regedit.exe instead of notepad.exe....you should now be able to double click a reg file and have it merge the contents into the registry.

    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\regfile\shell\open\command
     

    Attached Files:

  7. cl0ck

    cl0ck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Southeast Asia
    yup, i have repeated the installation procedure using .bat file but it still wouldn't install

    weird o_O, my regedit does not contain the command key HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\regfile that you mentioned, as shown in the attachment below
     

    Attached Files:

  8. cl0ck

    cl0ck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Southeast Asia
    the attachment below shows that the lists of "restricted sites" installed by IE-SpyAd are available in registry
    though it doesn't show in IE-Tools-Security box
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    cl0ck....if your still working on this I'd like you to try a few things if don't mind.

    First of all....do you have or have you added in sites to the Trusted and are they showing ?

    If you want to we can at least attempt to get your ability to double click .reg files and have them merge into the registry instead of opening notepad.

    Copy the text below into notepad and save the file as....regfile.reg.... into your root directory. Then go to Start\Run and type....regedit.exe C:\regfile.reg and let me know if you can at least merge .reg files by double clicking them.

    The below code:
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\regfile]
    @="Registration Entries"
    "EditFlags"=dword:00100000
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\regfile\DefaultIcon]
    @=hex(2):25,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,52,00,6f,00,6f,00,74,00,25,\
      00,5c,00,72,00,65,00,67,00,65,00,64,00,69,00,74,00,2e,00,65,00,78,00,65,00,\
      2c,00,31,00,00,00
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\regfile\shell]
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\regfile\shell\edit]
    @="&Edit"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\regfile\shell\edit\command]
    @=hex(2):25,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,52,00,6f,00,6f,00,74,00,25,\
      00,5c,00,73,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,33,00,32,00,5c,00,4e,00,4f,00,\
      54,00,45,00,50,00,41,00,44,00,2e,00,45,00,58,00,45,00,20,00,25,00,31,00,00,\
      00
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\regfile\shell\open]
    @="Mer&ge"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\regfile\shell\open\command]
    @="regedit.exe \"%1\""
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\regfile\shell\print]
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\regfile\shell\print\command]
    @=hex(2):25,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,52,00,6f,00,6f,00,74,00,25,\
      00,5c,00,73,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,33,00,32,00,5c,00,4e,00,4f,00,\
      54,00,45,00,50,00,41,00,44,00,2e,00,45,00,58,00,45,00,20,00,2f,00,70,00,20,\
      00,25,00,31,00,00,00
    

    Also....if you go back into the registry to that Domain key area and click on the 008i.com entry....do you see a....* REG_DWORD entry of 0x00000004(4) ?
     
  10. cl0ck

    cl0ck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Southeast Asia
    of course i won't mind :D
    i never add anything into the "trusted sites", but i did add two entries into "restricted sites" list
    i followed your advice and placed the "regfile.reg" file in C:\
    Thanks, now i am able to run the "install-iespyad reg file" properly instead of it opening in notepad :)
    yup, i can see the "REG_DWORDentry of 0x00000004(4)" in *008i.com* entry

    should i close all IE browsers & then re-opening it or should i restart the comp before i can see the entries?
    'coz i am yet to see the entries in the "restricted sites" since i haven't closed all browsers
     
  11. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    You should not have to do any of that BUT what thu hey....let's close all browsers, re-boot and see what happens.
     
  12. cl0ck

    cl0ck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Southeast Asia
    i just rebooted the comp
    but the entries are still not shown in the "restricted sites' list!
     
  13. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Are those 2 entries showing up in the...."restricted sites" in IE tools option ?

    Also....if you go to one of those 2 sites....do you see the Restricted Zone icon in the bottom right corner of IE ?

    I am beginning to wonder if you or someone has made a certain setting change in Group Policy ? If the below setting is Enabled....what your experiencing is very indicative of this.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. cl0ck

    cl0ck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Southeast Asia
    the 2 entries are there in the "restricted sites" list
    i can also see the "restricted zone icon" when i went to those sites

    this is the 1st time i heard of a thing called "group policy"
    but i can't go to the "group policy"
    i typed "gpedit.msc" on the "run" box & it says "windows can't find gpedit.msc"
    i opened the "help and support" & tried opening from there then a MMC box appeared and said "the tool that you requested is not available"
    o_O
     
  15. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    o_O

    Well....very interesting Ollie. Are you sure your the Admin. :)

    Anyway....if we can not find gpedit.msc....we can not see the Group Policy Objects key in the registry. So.... have you done a file find for gpedit.exe yet ?

    The below reg entry might fix the Restricted Sites item but you not having gpedit is something a little more serious and now I'm wondering if you've been tampered with.

    Copy the text below into notepad and save the file as....internet.reg.... into your root directory. Then go to Start\Run and type....regedit.exe C:\internet.reg and then merge IE-Spyads entries and see then if you can see the sites. Be sure to have all IE browser Windoows closed in case it matters.


    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Group Policy
    Objects\LocalMachine\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion
    \Internet Settings]
     
  16. cl0ck

    cl0ck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Southeast Asia
    hi Bubba, i really am the admin for this comp :rolleyes:
    the "run" box said "windows can't find gpedit.exe"
    after placing internet.reg file in C:\, i got an error, as shown in the attachment
    i also did another attempt, to no avail, by removing "-" before "HKEY_..." :
    [-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\...
    which i think was a human error (pardon me if i were wrong :D)
    guess the problem is getting more complicated
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    The minus sign "-"....before "HKEY_..." ....is what is used when one is attempting to remove a reg key. Without the minus sign....regedit then attempts to merge the reg file.


    If you don't mind....try one more reg merge of the below info....using the same instructions as above.

    "Copy the text below into notepad and save the file as....internet.reg.... into your root directory. Then go to Start\Run and type....regedit.exe C:\internet.reg and then merge IE-Spyads entries and see then if you can see the sites. Be sure to have all IE browser Windoows closed in case it matters."

    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Group Policy
    Objects\LocalMachine\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Windows]
    
    I do not want to be an alarmist just yet....BUT....it's not looking good :(
     
  18. cl0ck

    cl0ck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Southeast Asia
    I sent an email regarding the problem to Eric L. Howes, the creator of IE-SpyAd.
    Here's his reply:

     
  19. cl0ck

    cl0ck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Southeast Asia
    Hi Bubba, the latest reg file that you provided does not solve the problem too.
    yeah, the problem is not looking good. :(
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.