IE problem-"Open in new window"

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by eurekamind, Jul 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eurekamind

    eurekamind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Posts:
    220
    hi,

    My IE's right-click menu option "Open in new window" is not working properly.

    when I try to open any link in new window :
    > a new window appears
    > only menubar,toolbar and addressbar at upperside and statusbar at lowerside is visible. Middle part looks transparent and my desktop is visible through it.
    > addressbar is blank at this point.
    > page do not load and data transfer stops after a few seconds.
    > after selection of STOP and REFRESH in toolbar, the concerned page loads smoothly and address is also visible in the addressbar.

    Note: This problem do not occur in Firefox.

    any solution? [please do not advise me to stop using IE. Only solution is needed. :D ]
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2006
  2. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2006
  3. eurekamind

    eurekamind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Posts:
    220
    thanks GF for ur reply!

    I followed the link provided by u.
    I checked and found that all the registry entry and the .dll files which is given in the page are there in my system as it is expected to be.

    then I followed this suggestion:
    Upto "Browseui.dll" execution of commands were fine and successful but when I tried it for the last one - "regsvr32 Shell32.dll" then I got the below error:

    Attached Image
    ------------------------------------------------
    View attachment 181212
    ------------------------------------------------

    Also, I am encountering another problem. My Internet connection terminates automatically after sometime of connection irrespective of whether I use IE or Firefox.

    what should I do now in this condition? should I replace "shell32.dll"?

    .
     
  4. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Eureka, Win98!

    Here's a page you may want to have a look at - "Explanation of Regsvr32 Usage and Error Messages."

    Failing the previous one, I'm not sure if your problem has arisen from a possible infection that's able to patch dlls in memory, or if a utility such as the one mentioned at Annoyances (full page/3rd method - http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=836929) would help. Exercise discretion if you have Office 2000 installed.

    There is one other item of interest that I would like to look over before hopefully, again commenting.


    GF
     
  5. eurekamind

    eurekamind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Posts:
    220
    Hi GF!

    Thanks! for those last two links. It really solved my problem.
    Now,click on link and the right click menu option "open in new window" both are working fine.

    One thing that I want to say here is that command regsvr32 Shell32.dll is only applicable to Windows ME, Windows 2000 and XP.
    if using an earlier operating system i.e.win98, one should run the command "regsvr32 shdoc401.dll" That is why I got an error after running that command.

    here is what I actually did:
    ===================
    1> ran the commands:
    regsvr32 shdoc401.dll
    regsvr32 Shdocvw.dll
    regsvr32 Oleaut32.dll
    regsvr32 Actxprxy.dll
    regsvr32 Mshtml.dll
    regsvr32 Urlmon.dll


    note: this time I only executed the command in red color (in place of shell32.dll) as other commands were already executed by me before.

    2> downloaded the patch for win98 - MCREPAIR.EXE (http://download.microsoft.com/download/msninvestor/patch/1.0/win98/en-us/mcrepair.exe and executed it.
    3> restarted the computer.
    :thumb: problem solved. :thumb:

    MCREPAIR.EXE patch actually installs the old win98 compatible version of these files:
    Asycfilt.dll
    Oleaut32.dll
    Olepro32.dll
    Stdole2.tlb


    therefore I had taken the backup of these files before applying the patch in case anything goes wrong.

    I am not sure what actually worked for me, commands or patch or both.
    but It worked... that is what I needed.

    thanks again GF and keep it up.

    regards.
     
  6. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Eureka! Too easy!? :D

    Really though, I forgot to mention the repair utility attempts to correct version compatibilities for the files involved, and not neccessarily the one throwing the error. That I'm somewhat unfamiliar with Win98's layout of working dll's, your persistent detective work proved to be the difference. Somewhere along the line whether through updates/program addition's, one or more of the files responsible for those particular IE functions must have been replaced. But then I take, you figured as much. Oh I had doubt's with the questionable fifty percent success rate on that short Annoyances page .... my concerns to pass it along outweighed by the target OS. Hard to tell sometimes what will or won't work from one situation to another, best we can do is systematically exhaust available/creative options.

    I'd like to thank you eurekamind for taking the time to work through it, pointing out the particular's. Good conclusion for what YOU needed!


    GF
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.