Icons not loading in System Tray

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by addo62, Jul 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. addo62

    addo62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    NSW Australia
    KOTB

    I tried this fix from an older thread topic but it does not work, when I go back into the registry via regedit the entry I placed there is gone.

    I have tried it many times but the registry entry just keeps disappearing.

    Any ideas anyone pls??

    This is not the only program I have multiple entry's that go missing form the system tray @ Windows startup.

    WIN XP Pro SP2..
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 3, 2006
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Re: NOD32 Control Centre not loading

    Hi addo62, welcome to Wilders.

    To me this sentence is the key. It looks like it is going to be a Windows registry issue.

    I'll wait for one of our more knowledgable members to point you in the right direction.

    Cheers :D
     
  3. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Re: NOD32 Control Centre not loading

    Maybe to simple of an answer, but.......have you un-checked "Hide unused icons"?
     
  4. addo62

    addo62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    NSW Australia
    Re: NOD32 Control Centre not loading

    Yep sure have.


    Where this all started was a few days ago NOD32 CC, personal firewall, safely remove hardware & a few other items were missing from my system tray. I tried just re-booting thinking there must have been some sort of lockup, but nup it was a persistent problem.

    I tried all sorts of things to fix it but alas decided to do the dreaded re-format & do a fresh install of Windows.

    After the many hours of re-loading everything all seemed to be going fine when all of a sudden it happened again. The only way I found I could get a temporary fix was to use system restore to a known earlier time that all was fine. Obviously this is not ideal & so I have been searching the net endlessly looking for a solution (even spoke to a local NOD32 techo person).

    I have tried everything from changing my video card & drivers (NOD32 techo guy recommodation), unhiding icons in taskbar properties, changing them to show always, checked for the known uPNP hitch, tried registry entries, actually tried every fix suggested that I have seen so far. Apparently there is some known bug in WIN XP that can cause this with no known guaranteed fix.

    The only way I can get around it @ the moment is by using a startup manager & have those command lines in there to start. This is not always perfect as my personal firewall (look 'n' stop) will not start minimised, which is a PITA, & ocassionally the NOD32 CC has some sort of communication error & does not load.

    I know that maybe no-one can help but @ least this unusual problem has been posted & could help someone else in the future?
     
  5. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Re: NOD32 Control Centre not loading

    Sorry.....knew this was to simple a suggestion. Good luck as your search for a fix continues. If it`s a known glitch, maybe, MS will issue a patch. yea, right.
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Re: NOD32 Control Centre not loading

    Could you please dowload and run Hijackthis and post a log here.

    Cheers :D
     
  7. addo62

    addo62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    NSW Australia
    Re: NOD32 Control Centre not loading

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
    Scan saved at 2:26:34 PM, on 4/07/2006
    Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\STOPzilla!\SZServer.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Diskeeper Corporation\Diskeeper\DkService.exe
    C:\Program Files\Powerware\LanSafe\Bin\PowerMonitor.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\LightScribe\LSSrvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Eset\nod32krn.exe
    C:\Program Files\CyberLink\Shared files\RichVideo.exe
    C:\Program Files\Alcohol Soft\Alcohol 120\StarWind\StarWindService.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\wwSecure.exe
    C:\Program Files\Powerware\LanSafe\bin\xyntservice.exe
    C:\Program Files\Powerware\LanSafe\bin\httpserver.exe
    C:\Program Files\Powerware\LanSafe\bin\status_glance.exe
    C:\Program Files\STOPzilla!\STOPzilla.exe
    C:\Program Files\StartupGuru\startupguru.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\devldr32.exe
    C:\Program Files\Soft4Ever\looknstop\looknstop.exe
    C:\Program Files\ESET\nod32kui.exe
    C:\Program Files\TOSHIBA\gigabeat room 3.0\TosGBWatcher.exe
    C:\Program Files\Diskeeper Corporation\Diskeeper\DfrgFat.exe
    C:\Program Files\Diskeeper Corporation\Diskeeper\DkIcon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\Addo\Desktop\HijackThis1991.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.ozemail.com.au/
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.ozemail.com.au/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.ozemail.com.au/
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.ozemail.com.au/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Connection Wizard,ShellNext = http://www.ozemail.com.au/
    O2 - BHO: Adobe PDF Reader Link Helper - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: SSVHelper Class - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
    O2 - BHO: STOPzilla Browser Helper Object - {E3215F20-3212-11D6-9F8B-00D0B743919D} - C:\Program Files\STOPzilla!\SZIEBHO.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [STOPzilla] C:\Program Files\STOPzilla!\STOPzilla.exe /autostart
    O4 - Global Startup: Adobe Gamma Loader.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Adobe Reader Speed Launch.lnk = C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\Reader\reader_sl.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\OFFICE11\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://update.microsoft.com/windowsupdate/v6/V5Controls/en/x86/client/wuweb_site.cab?1151827447546
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: WgaLogon - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WgaLogon.dll
    O23 - Service: Ati HotKey Poller - ATI Technologies Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    O23 - Service: ATI Smart - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\system32\ati2sgag.exe
    O23 - Service: AutoComplete Service (Autocomplete) - Acesoft - C:\Program Files\Acesoft\Tracks Eraser Pro\delautocomp.exe
    O23 - Service: Diskeeper - Diskeeper Corporation - C:\Program Files\Diskeeper Corporation\Diskeeper\DkService.exe
    O23 - Service: InstallDriver Table Manager (IDriverT) - Macrovision Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\InstallShield\Driver\11\Intel 32\IDriverT.exe
    O23 - Service: LanSafe Power Monitor (LanSafe PM) - Powerware - C:\Program Files\Powerware\LanSafe\Bin\PowerMonitor.exe
    O23 - Service: LanSafe Process Manager - Powerware - C:\Program Files\Powerware\LanSafe\bin\xyntservice.exe
    O23 - Service: LightScribeService Direct Disc Labeling Service (LightScribeService) - Hewlett-Packard Company - C:\Program Files\Common Files\LightScribe\LSSrvc.exe
    O23 - Service: NOD32 Kernel Service (NOD32krn) - Eset - C:\Program Files\Eset\nod32krn.exe
    O23 - Service: Pml Driver - HP - C:\WINDOWS\system32\HPHipm09.exe
    O23 - Service: Cyberlink RichVideo Service(CRVS) (RichVideo) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\CyberLink\Shared files\RichVideo.exe
    O23 - Service: StarWind iSCSI Service (StarWindService) - Rocket Division Software - C:\Program Files\Alcohol Soft\Alcohol 120\StarWind\StarWindService.exe
    O23 - Service: STOPzilla Service (szserver) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\Common Files\STOPzilla!\SZServer.exe
    O23 - Service: Washer Security Access (wwSecSvc) - Webroot Software, Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\wwSecure.exe
     
  8. addo62

    addo62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    NSW Australia
    Re: NOD32 Control Centre not loading

    Now the Startup Manager program is not loading @ startup so hence neither are the troubled programs....

    This is so bizarre, I have never seen anything like this before & I tell you it will not be long before my Computer becomes airborne...............

    PLS Someone have a solution for me!!
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Re: NOD32 Control Centre not loading

    Could you please uninstall STOPzilla and see if that improves the situation.

    Cheers :D
     
  10. addo62

    addo62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    NSW Australia
    Re: NOD32 Control Centre not loading

    Ok now I am getting freaked.

    I started NOD32 CC & my firewall manually, went down to the shops, came back to the seat that my butt has not left in days & guess what NOD32 & my firewall icons were gone from the system tray with no re-booting.....

    This computer is posessed.

    Could it be a hardware fault, dying motherboard or PSUo_O
     
  11. addo62

    addo62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    NSW Australia
    Re: NOD32 Control Centre not loading

    I will try anything (well almost anything)

    Let you know what happens.
     
  12. addo62

    addo62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    NSW Australia
    Re: NOD32 Control Centre not loading

    Uninstalled, which was not easy, I had to use a third party uninstaller as it came up with an error message.

    It has made no difference.

    My startup manager will still not load even though it is set in its options to load @ startup.
     
  13. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Re: NOD32 Control Centre not loading

    Could you place your Windows CD in the CDROM drive

    Click Start> run

    Type in CMD

    When the black window opens type in: sfc /scannow

    SFC (System File Checker, a part of Windows File Protection) will replace any changed/damaged system files with a clean copy. SFC may not solve every problem, but it's a good start.

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     
  14. addo62

    addo62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    NSW Australia
    Re: NOD32 Control Centre not loading

    I did that but I do not understand what was supposed to happen?

    It scanned then that was it.

    I presume if there was a problem it would have came up with some sort of message?
     
  15. addo62

    addo62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    NSW Australia
    Re: NOD32 Control Centre not loading

    Out of desperation I found another shareware Startup Manager program & installed that.

    I put the nod32kui.exe command in there & when Windows started it did try to load but had an error message,

    "Error occurred during communication with NOD32 kernel service"

    It would then load manually after hitting ok from the error message.
     
  16. addo62

    addo62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    NSW Australia
    Re: NOD32 Control Centre not loading

    Every startup manager program I use will load the program on the first re-boot but then despite saving the changes, & having the program enabled to start up when Windows load, it does not load on subsequent re-boots.

    When I then open up the startup program the entries are as if they were not even put in there in the first place.

    I have a ran a thorough virus scan (with NOD32 of course), done 2 seperate Spyware scans, ran a registry checker program, ran CHKDSK, & as well as Blackspears advice on scanning the Windows system files.

    A big fat NOTHING.

    There must be a computer boffin out there in Cyberspace somewhere who can help me, PLS....
     
  17. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Re: NOD32 Control Centre not loading

    At this stage if it was my system I would format and start again, this time leave off everything except NOD32 and Look n Stop.

    Don't put back StopZilla, Startup Guru, Diskeeper, PowerMonitor, LightScribe or any other program.

    I'm 100% positive you will not see the issue return.

    As this is a Windows issue I am moving your thread to a more appropriate forum where it should receive better attention.

    Cheers :D
     
  18. addo62

    addo62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    NSW Australia
    Re: NOD32 Control Centre not loading

    Thanks for all your assistance.

    Startup Guru was a program that was installed well after the problems started happening. PowerMonitor is quite a neccesary program as it is with my USB UPS.
    I can get by without Lightscribe (built into Nero) & at a pinch Diskeeper. But I do not understand how these programs would be doing it as I have been using them for ages, long before any of these problems started.

    Maybe I should defect to an Apple Mac.....
     
  19. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Re: NOD32 Control Centre not loading

    My pleasure.

    What I am saying is to start with just the absolute basics, and run with a for a few days.

    Ultimately to test and see what program is causing the issue you would want to install an imaging program such as Acronis True Image 9.0. Then you could add a program and image, add another program and image again... until you find the culprit causing the issue.

    Cheers :D
     
  20. addo62

    addo62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    NSW Australia
    http://www.annoyances.org/exec/forum/winxp/t1034225301

    Seems like I am not the only one...

    This link is full of people with the same problem & it appears it is not a new hiccup either. The above thread link dates back to 2002.

    So many people have their suggestions for a fix which seem to work for some & not for others.

    The most popular temp. fix was to disable UPnP in SSDP & Universal Plug & Play in the Computer Services Console. This seemed to fix the problem for many people, but obviously it is only a bandaid measure.

    One thing for sure it appears to be a WIN XP bug, there is no definitive link that a particular type of software program causes the problem, it is wierd though how it will affect some & not others.

    I personally tried every (I mean every) fix that was talked about on that thread & nothing worked. I ended up going back to 1 of my many restore points I made along the way when re-loading all of my programs post the re-format. The computer has been running all night & so far so good, although it is usually after some re-booting that the icons will go.
    I am not going to load anymore programs for a few days & see how things go.

    I will keep this thread up-to-date in the hope that someone out there is in a similar predicament & it may help us both.

    PS> My thoughts is that it is a hardware cause not software. My mainboard recently had a failed on-board LAN controller, so who knows what else maybe dying in the background. I know from previous experience that a dying PSU can cause very unusual problems.

    (I am well overdue for a computer upgrade anyway)....
     
  21. addo62

    addo62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    NSW Australia
    Just an update on my situation. (info that could help others).

    Since the other night I went back to 1 of my earlier restore points & since then for a reason unknown to me the system has been stable for over 2days.

    The only program that was not installed for this restore was a shareware program called 'Smarty Uninstaller', but I am sure that the icons problem developed prior to this program going on in the first instance??

    This whole process has been extremely frustrating for many reasons, not the least being that I seem (fingers crossed) to have cured the fault, but I do not know how.

    "For the benefit of Blackspear I am running with all the same programs again for the exception of my firewall, but that only changed yesterday."

    Anyway, I hope that in some way my posts might help someone else in the future as 1 thing I did learn is, that a lot of people have had this very same issue.

    :cool:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.