ICH8 - problem - no answer from support

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by latika, Mar 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. latika

    latika Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Hi there,

    i own TI Home 9. A few weeks ago,i bought a new computer with an integrated ICH8 Controller. Now, TI no longer detects any harddisks. This problem is, i know not new. In the TI FAQ at the Acronis Website i could read, that i should contact the support. This is exactly, what i have done THREE TIMES!
    But there is no answer from acronis anytime.. very poor i think..

    (btw -> i only use boot-cd)

    what can i do now? i cannot contakt support via telephone, 'cause my phone-provider doesnt support those expensive numbers...

    what should i do nowo_O

    bye
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    If you have a P965 chipset board (they use the ICH8 controller) then you'll need to upgrade to the latest build of TI 10 to get "full mode" support for it. TI 9 does not support it from the rescue cd in full mode. Have you tried TI 9 in safe mode? Safe may detect your hard disk since it works through the computer's BIOS instead of using linux drivers.

    The only other option would be to build a BartPE cd with the needed drivers.
     
  3. latika

    latika Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    i got a TI 10 home from a friend, and it didn't work, too :-(
    yes the chipset is a P965.. booting in safe mode didn't work, too.. i also tried to switch the harddisks to ide mode in bios.. no way...

    the mainboard is manufactured by dell..

    bart pe.. ? i never made this.. it might be an adventure ;-) i have seen somewhere in a forum, that acronis has got an image they give their 9.0 customers, which are using ich8 boards which might work. but i cant find it any more :-( i remember, they said, it's distributed via support..

    has anybody experiences with the acronis support? i'm very angry, becausethey dont answer :-(

    sorry, about my english.. i hope u guys do understand all
     
  4. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    What was the build of TI 10 that you tried? Only build 4,940 or later supports the P965 chipset. Also you need to be more specific when describing the problem. Saying didn't work is not going to allow anyone to really help you. Do you have any error messages?

    Safe mode of TI 9 and 10 worked on my P965 computer so I know it can work.

    If you're interested in creating a BartPE cd, check out this link. mustang has created a how-to on the procedure.

    Since the P965 chipset is now supported by TI 10 builds 4,940 or later, I doubt that Acronis support will supply a custom ISO file for you. If, however, you follow the steps outlined the the "Read Before You Post" sticky thread, and submit the information on your specific computer, they may be able to help.

    Acronis support is sometimes very slow. My custom ISO file took a while to get, but I did get it.
     
  6. latika

    latika Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    @menorcaman:

    i did it the way, they explain it on the german support site, i think i did it right, there were input forms for my build number and so on.. my version is registered, so i could select it...

    @mudcrab

    sorry, i thought, it was enough to say it is the ich8 problem, because even acronis names it this way on the german site... the error message is the well known :

    E000101F4 - not found any hard disk drives

    //but in german.. cause it's a german version of TI

    specs of my computer will follow.. i am the next two weeks not at home, so i cant figure them out... but if you say a TI9 might work with a P965 board... it has to work..

    so, have a nice time...

    read you in two weeks
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello latika,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Could you please let us know your Acronis request number (e.g. [Acronis #123456]) which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter? We will find out the reason for the delay. If you have not received an autoreply then please send us a Private Message containing your e-mail address.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  8. latika

    latika Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    so, finally, i got a link from support team to a working iso-image of TI 10.0

    so, thread can be closed thank u all
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello latika,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are glad to hear that your issue has been solved and you can use Acronis True Image 10.0 Home successfully now.

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.