I want WSA to stop(startup) scanning...

Discussion in 'Prevx Betas' started by Tarnak, Nov 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    ... when exceeding 24hrs(time window), between boots.

    As can be seen, from the following screenshots, WSA is scanning during bootup, and seems to delay the loading of the systray icons.

    ScreenShot_WSA_stop_scanning_at_boot_01.jpg

    ScreenShot_WSA_stop_scanning_at_boot_02.jpg

    Thereby, prolonging the time it takes for the scan.

    ScreenShot_WSA_stop_scanning_at_boot_03.jpg


    P.S. I rotate thru several snapshots, so I (sometimes) exceed the the 24hrs window, that WSA allows between scans.

    P.S.S. I tried the 'Delayed Start' feature, in WinPatrol Plus, but WSA overrides that.
     
  2. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    Settings -> Scan Schedule.
    Uncheck "Scan at bootup if the computer is off at the scheduled time"
    Click Save All
    Click OK
    Click Close

    ^.^
     
  3. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    Thanks, Techfox1976

    I had that unchecked,already. ;)

    ScreenShot_WSA_stop_scanning_at_boot_04.jpg

    Also, my computer runs 24/7. :D
     
  4. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    Then the best idea in that case is to get in touch with Tech Support. If there is a problem going on and things are not acting as they're supposed to, they'll want to know so they can get a bug report in.

    Click the "Send Feedback" button in the lower right of the main screen, follow directions on web site, and be sure to give as much detail as possible (especially the fact that that setting is off).

    They'll probably have you grab logs and maybe do an uninstall/reinstall (Especially if you've been using it for a long time/since beta) without importing settings in case there is anything going wonky with old settings that didn't import correctly.
     
  5. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    The 24-hour-missed scan window is where the problem is originating from here. I think the best solution would be to prevent WSA from scanning too early on in the bootup process just to reduce contention.

    I'll have this change included in the next agent update. Thanks for the report! :)
     
  6. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    Thanks for taking care of my problem...regarding my bone of contention. :D

    I am looking forward to the next beta release. :)

    P.S. Not many would have a setup with WSA installed on 3 separate snapshots.
     
  7. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    Since installing v8.0.1.8 I have had to force shutdown (twice) because of complete system freeze, the last of which occurred in the middle of downloading a definitions update for SAS shortly berfore 9.00am.

    See screenshot of Execution History, which shows nothing much happening on the system while I was sleeping during the wee small hours.

    ScreenShot_WSA_Execution History_01.jpg
     
  8. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    It would be worth sending in a scan log to our tech support team or uploading it somewhere and PMing me a link so that I can take a look.

    Thanks!
     
  9. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    Just sent, to tech support in the UK...I hope you get it, because I didn't get any acknowledgement in my browser.
     
  10. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you clarify which support inbox you wrote it into? The majority of our support teams are based in the US so I just want to be sure you're speaking with the right ones about WSA.

    Thanks!
     
  11. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    I took the UK option as follows:

    ScreenShot_WSA_Product support_01.jpg
     
  12. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    That would go to the old system if you called by phone. Better to go to https://www.webrootanywhere.com/servicewelcome.asp to drop it off. If you have WSA installed, click on "Send Feedback" at the bottom right and it will automagically send logs when you enter ticket info.
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Just to let you know that the "Send Feedback" button is not there in v8.0.1.8 it's been replaced with "Learn more" button! Also only the one's in the original Closed Beta Group has v8.0.1.8 in which I think Tarnak is in so it's best just to contact the WSA support inbox directly https://www.webrootanywhere.com/servicewelcome.asp

    TH
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 17, 2011
  14. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Or you can click "Help and Support" along the bottom left side (the blue link). We were getting inundated with positive feedback from the "Send Feedback" button and users had questions which could be answered from the "Learn More" page :)
     
  15. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    Actually, that is what I did, and when that page opened, I clicked 'Contact Support', in the bottom right hand corner. ;) See the screenshot in #11 above.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.