I want to get into beta-testing antivirus software

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Pericles, Jul 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pericles

    Pericles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    What do I need? I don't have a spare pc but I heard something about a virtual pc on which to test. Also, do I need actual real virii with which to test? And finally, where can I learn all I can about antivirus software and virii in general?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    I run betas from time to time and I don't have a spare pc either.
    I won't collect virii/malware,it's too risky for me with one pc.
    You can contribute as a beta tester without a malware collection.
    One thing that helps is submitting false positives to the developer.
    Beta testing can be risky so I read posts about particular betas and if that beta seems to be stable I may use it or if it is developed by a company that I trust,that helps.Sometimes betas are available to the public,but not always.

    The best places to find out about antivirus programs is security forums on the web.
    Wilders is by far the most informative IMO.
    Antivirus program homepages like Symantech etc.. have a lot of information about malware.Google search is a useful tool for finding this information.

    A very good idea if you are going to beta test is to have a backup or imaging program in case you have problems.Use a lot of caution!Don't have more than one av program installed with monitors activated for example.
    Research a beta program and be selective.
     
  3. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I have a very knowlegable friend who will NOT put beta antivirus on his main machine, and he really knows computers. If you want to try it get a cheap second machine.
     
  4. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    With good imaging software like True Image, I feel indestructible. I run whatever - have a problem and either system restore or True Image if restore does not work. True Image "F11" has never let me down and I've re imaged many times.
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046
    You might also take a look at Raxco's (www.raxco.com) First Defense-ISR. I beta test on my primary business machine, and with FD-ISR I've never had a problem. One caveat: If you are using Kaspersky 5.0 AV (which I am) and using their ADS feature(which I am not) you will need to uninstall KAV clean up the ADS and reinstall without it. Sounds messy, but FDISR was proven worth the effort.

    Basically FDISR makes another bootable snapshot of your system, which you can boot into, and it looks like your regular system. You can install software, mess stuff up, whatever, and then boot back to the primary. 3-5 minute copy, and the other snapshot is back to being identical with the primary.

    Pete
     
  6. Pericles

    Pericles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    I got myself WMware Workstation to serve as my virtual pc and I have also amassed a sizable collection of malware. What do I do now? That is, how do I actually test? What do I do with my malware?

    Thanks.
     
  7. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    You had better research what can go wrong first, in case of an accident and what protective measures you need to have in place before you start. Think of malware as nuclear material.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.