I Used Disk Cleanup And Need Big Help!

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Kuroudo Akabane, Jul 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kuroudo Akabane

    Kuroudo Akabane Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    United States
    I used Disk Cleanup on my netbook, and it made my IE icons go away, as well as the games that came installed and the volume controls... maybe more but that's all I can notice.

    I tried using a restore point but the only one was after the changes were made.


    What should I do?


    Also, the button on my toolbar that goes to the desktop is gone... And this all happened after I used the disk cleanup windows component button...
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  3. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Here is a good example how these so called disk clean ups can cause more harm then good.Its always wise to back up first before running reg cleaner,disk clean ups.check what cudin said they may have been just turned off.Sounds like you cleaned all old restore point as well.
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2012
  4. Kuroudo Akabane

    Kuroudo Akabane Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    United States
    What do you mean? Also, I have Windows XP Home.

    How can I prevent that in the future?
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2012
  5. lurkingatu2

    lurkingatu2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    Oregon
    hello

    mabe try in the control panel under add or remove programs click on the left add/remove windows components and put a
    check mark in the ones you need

    i know thats how to get games back i just had to fix my friends pc for that because the games where missing

    :)
     
  6. lurkingatu2

    lurkingatu2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    Oregon
    oh yes sometimes on xp home to get the Ie desktop icon back you right click on the desktop amd choose properties
    then click desktop then click custumize desktop and put a check mark in Internet Explorer to get Ie icon back

    or open the Ie folder in C:\programs and right click the Ie.exe and send to desktop to make a short cut

    :)
     
  7. Kuroudo Akabane

    Kuroudo Akabane Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    United States
    The games were like minesweeper, etc. that comes on the PC.

    Tried that, the icon isn't in the folder anymore.
     
  8. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    What "Disk Cleanup" did you use? The Disk Cleanup utility that's built into XP cannot cause the problems you're describing.
     
  9. lurkingatu2

    lurkingatu2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    Oregon
    yes the games are under accessories and Utilites click on details put a check mark in them
     

    Attached Files:

  10. lurkingatu2

    lurkingatu2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    Oregon
    but i think the internet games need the windows cd to reinstall though
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Kuroudo Akabane

    Kuroudo Akabane Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    United States
    I see the game I want (Internet Reversi) listed when I follow your picture... but how do I get it back?

    I think my best bet is to just go back to factory defaults and start over...

    But I can't figure out how to do that.
     
  12. lurkingatu2

    lurkingatu2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    Oregon
    hello

    you could google how to restore to factory settings (your brand of pc)

    also if your pc has the options to make the restore cd's you should make them first incase something
    go's wrong but some pc's dont have restore partitions thay come with restore cd's when the pc is new
    and you have to use them

    like i used Acrons True image 8 before and it changed the master boot record for the Acronis Secure Zone
    to start on startup so i could press f11 and restore my pc from there

    and when i uninstalled Acrons TI it put back the Windows xp MBR and not the Acer MBR now my Acer pc would
    not go to the Acer restore partition by pushing alt-f10 on startup

    so now i have to use the restore cd's that i made to restore my Acer computer and not the restore partition
    so it would be wise to make the cd's if you can

    also read as much as you can from your computer manufacturer on how to do the restore sometimes thay have
    videos on how to do it

    it's not that hard to do but just in case

    good luck

    :)
     
  13. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Type recovery in your start - search and see if it shows any related to recovery.For Example, I have a netbook by gateway but on windows 7 and If I type recovery I will see the option of gateway recovery management.That is my factory restore options.
     
  14. Kuroudo Akabane

    Kuroudo Akabane Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    United States
    I haven't been able to find away to restore defaults.
     
  15. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Is it a netbook or laptop.
     
  16. Kuroudo Akabane

    Kuroudo Akabane Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    United States
  17. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I should have a recovery partition built in for a factory restore if you want to start over.
     
  18. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I use JV16 Power Tools which is a disk clean up app, and it has a back up feature. If you delete too much etc. you can go back in it and restore back to where you were. Perhaps your disk cleaner does as well. ;)
     
  19. Kuroudo Akabane

    Kuroudo Akabane Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    United States
    For the same computer?

    I just used the Disk Cleanup that's built-in to the OS.
     
  20. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Here is a option you can try. restart you computer and keep pressing F8 when you see the bios screen,this will put you in safe mode.Then you can look for the option to repair your computer.If you need further help you you can always contact the manufactor of your netbook.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.