i/o device error - windows error number 1117

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by beethoven, May 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,044
    I was happily using FdISR 3.31.232 and Shadowprotect desktop version - no issues in the past.

    Today I wanted to test a new set-up involving the SP Image Manager in order to do incrementals. When setting up the schedule with SP Image Manager I noticed that I had never installed this component before, only using SP Desktop. During the installation I was asked to install MS .Net Framework and I agreed.

    Silly me, for once I was lazy and did not update my archive prior to doing all of this. The installation went ahead and I did not notice any problem. I am now getting a MS update notification that .Net Framework 3.5 should be installed. This time trying to be careful I intended to update my archive but each time it ends with errors - no difference when updating the existing archive or creating a new archive.
    I could go back to an earlier snapshot (two weeks old) - not too much of a deal as almost all data is on another drive. Still, before doing so, is there a better solution? I will try a reboot and/or install the outstanding .net Framework and see what happens then.

    I vaguely remember that years ago someone mentioned mbr issues but I thought this was all solved and that the two program live happily together.
    I just noticed that my scheduled incremental imaging was actually already running today - I thought I had set this up to only start tomorrow but looking at explorer I can see a number of .spi files being created in 30min intervals as per schedule. Do I need to fully disable SP for FdISR to update an archive?
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Strange, but the answer to your last question is no. Based on the newsletter that Fred Langa started, I have not allowed windows to install the new service pack for Net Framework 3.5

    Pete
     
  3. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,044
    Pete,

    I did not have any .Net on this particular pc before but when I wanted to install the image manager, SP "suggested" to install .Net Frame 2.0. So I assumed that this was necessary to run the image manager. The current problem is not due to 3.5 which at this point is not yet installed.

    Just as an update - after the last incremental for the day was done and SP went into "hibernation" until tomorrow, I just tried once more to create a new archive - this time no errors.
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2009
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Ah computer mysteries. Sometimes the best solution is wait a day and try again. Go figure
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.