I need help please.

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by 24giovanni, Dec 28, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 24giovanni

    24giovanni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    9
    I use spywareguard and everytime my computer boots up I get the following message:

    spywareguard browser protection alert!

    An attempt to change IE settings has been detected.

    Warning! Your ie homepage has been changed!\\Your IE current user homepage has benn changed from

    http://www.altavista.com

    to

    http://www.google.com

    What would you like to do: restore or keep?



    What can I do to stop getting this annoying alert? Is there a way to turn it off? If so, how?
     
  2. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,449
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hi 24giovanni,

    Welcome to Wilders!!!

    I guess the first question would be do you want your default home page to be google or not.... If you want it to be google, then accept the change. Of course if you want it to stay Altavista, then restore the old. A cause of this could be if you have a google toolbar installed..... This might be trying to change it to google when it is run...

    If the above is not the case, you probably need to post a HJT log. I am afraid we no longer allow the posting of unsolicited HijackThis logs as per our Posting Policy stated in this Announcement. However, you will find a link in the Announcement Post to several other sites that still do provide HijackThis log analysis service.

    You may also click on the ASAP in my signature and it will take you to the ASAP page that lists sites that accept HijackThis log submissions.

    Whichever site you decide to go to, please be sure and follow their posting policy before you post your HijackThis log.
     
  3. 24giovanni

    24giovanni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    9
    Thanks for the welcome. It's nice to be here.

    Another question I have is if I disable SG from my system tray will it still do what it's suppose to do?
     
  4. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,449
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hi 24giovanni,

    If you try to exit the GUI, it says you will be shutting down most of SG protection. See attachment. I would then assume that you lose significant amounts of your protection by removing SG from the system tray...

    HTH...
     

    Attached Files:

  5. 24giovanni

    24giovanni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    9
    Thanks for the response. But back to my original question. How can I stop that message from coming up. It's really annoying.
     
  6. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,449
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hi 24giovanni,

    You are most welcome
    ;) ...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.