I have just bought this router and i want to know if its any good

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by chaos16, Jun 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chaos16

    chaos16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,004
    I want to know if the router i have bought is any good.


    The make is ALLNET

    and the version is ALL130DSLA

    how do i know if this router has a hardware firewall built in or all the routers have a hardware firewall built ino_O?


    is this router any goodo_O
     
  2. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    first you buy and then you look if it's good :) well it can surely work out...been there done that :D

    I don't know...if it had NAT (network address translation) then you're stealthed :) but if that is the answer you're looking for, I don't know.

    Sincerely
     
  3. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    chaos16,

    Personally, I've not heard of the make, although it could be a rebranded unit for all I know. A quick search seems to imply it's fairly localized in the German market at the present.

    Typically, these are the questions one would ask before buying a unit.

    Blue
     
  4. chaos16

    chaos16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,004
    i nkow but my dad bought it so there is nothing i can do.


    i have tried looking for reviews but i can't its on another lkanguage.

    does anyone know if it has a hardware firewall and if its a good router with a good hardware firewall?? o_O
     
  5. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    I don't know the brand...but I bet my money it has NAT .. that's a nice security feature anyway (go into your configuration setup: mostly you type in some IP address in your address) then you'll find the config panel.

    in your control panel you'll be able to find what capacities it has.
    don't you have a manual?
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Translated using babelfish from the manufacturers German website:

    LAN INTERFACE LAN standard nearly Ethernet of LAN haven 4xRJ45 of integrated SWITCHES WAN INTERFACE DSL technology DSL DSL modem integrates INTERNET ENTRANCE SUA 1 NAT & PAT MINUTES WAN of minutes PPPoE; PPPoA of CHARACTERISTICS Web-based LED displays SECURITY & FIREWALL FUNCTIONS Filtering URL Filtering DHCP support server Firewall GENERAL DATA test character CE _ ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: ADSL modem (annex A) not been suitable for the enterprise in Germany Erweitete log functions hacker attack recognition Mailalarm with hacker attacks DMZ host support DynDNS

    Hope this helps...

    Cheers :D
     
  7. chaos16

    chaos16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,004
    sry blackspear i don't completly understand wat u are saying.

    wat are u saying its a good router or bad??

    are u saying it has a hardware firewallo_O
     
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,792
    Location:
    Texas
  9. chaos16

    chaos16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,004
    Ronjor thnx any way but the routers that are on the link is not the version that i have.
     
  10. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I can only read as much as you can Chaos16 ;) :D

    In what was translated there is mention of a Firewall, as to how good it is, I do not know.

    Cheers :D
     
  11. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    I`d say from Blackspear`s post it has a firewall and more. Seems to me to be a good router.
     
  12. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    Oops, didn`t see you post. :)
     
  13. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    you'll still need some outbound protection Chaos, no matter what hardware firewall you're running...
     
  14. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Agreed :D

    Cheers :D
     
  15. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,792
    Location:
    Texas
  16. chaos16

    chaos16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,004
    i use zonealarm so i think thats a good outbound protection.
     
  17. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Indeed it is :D

    Cheers :D
     
  18. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Yep, us parents do that, much to the chagrin of the kids.

    I took a peek at the English manual, available here. It's fine. Here's the brief feature set description from the manual:

    Blue
     
  19. Primrose

    Primrose Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,743
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.