I feel cheated.............

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by tom meehan, Jan 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tom meehan

    tom meehan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    I bought spyware blaster to stop spyware from being installed into my computer but everytime that I load spyware blaster, a trogan called kazaa lite and spyware called azesearch is loaded into my computer...this only happens when I load spyware blaster. so the spyware blaster software must be installing this trogan and spyware.... so obviously I feel betrayed by the spyware blaster company.................
     
  2. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,875
    Location:
    New England
    SpywareBlaster is actually a free program. Where did you get your copy?
     
  3. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    don't you have to pay if you want auto updates ?
     
  4. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,875
    Location:
    New England
    You can, but that isn't a thing you buy then download. Everyone starts with the free SpywareBlaster kit and it updates fine manually. If you want auto-updates, that's simply a key you can get after the fact.
     
  5. tom meehan

    tom meehan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    I put spyblaster into my computers so long ago that I forgot if I paid for it or not...but that's not the point that I'm trying to make...spyware blaster actually puts sypware into your computer....I know that this is true,because I just ran a anti-spyware program a few minutes ago and found kazaa lite which is a trogan horse and azesearch which is a spyware program loaded into my computer again...has anyone else found this to be true.?
     
  6. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,875
    Location:
    New England
    Just because a spyware scanner found those things, why do you assume SpywareBlaster "put them there", especially since you "installed it so long ago that you forgot if you paid for it or not?" Where's the correlation that says SpywareBlaster caused that problem and not something else - like actually getting infected from some other source?

    Also, it would help if you said what scanner found this and pasted the exact results here, to make sure it isn't a false positive scanner result that mistakenly shows SpywareBlaster protection items as actual infections.
     
  7. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    What anti-spyware program did you run ?
     
  8. tom meehan

    tom meehan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    xostspy,,it is supposed to be the best antispyware made, it cost me 40 bucks.
     
  9. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
  10. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,875
    Location:
    New England
    I assume you mean "xoftspy" (a spyware scanner) versus "xostspy" (a software cracks, keygen and warez site).

    Here's a thread about xoftspy false positives, which sounds a lot like what you are describing...

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=150569
     
  11. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    I'm beginning to wonder whether or not this individual actually has SWB on his computer (and not something else with a similar name).

    I'd like some screenshots, both of his main SWB interface (see my screenshot) and of the detection/log screen of whatever "the best antispyware made" (which apparently he got soaked for $40 for) got those results.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    That sounds like the unfortunate truth. seems it happens to a whole lot of the unknowing. :doubt:
     
  13. tom meehan

    tom meehan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    I deleted the entire spywareblaster program and then reloaded it from the official site using the recommended major geeks website. I found that the same spyware was included in the spywareblaster software. they are severe risks named kazaa lite which is a trojan and azesearch, both of which affect the registry.I will now delete spyware blaster and curse this company for their deception...............
     
  14. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,875
    Location:
    New England
    There is no spyware or any malicious software in SpywareBlaster. (The entire community of recognized anti-spyware and anti-virus people will confirm this.) You haven't even attempted to read and respond to the information and questions above, such as the link to the false positives I posted.

    Your posting now makes it look like you are just trolling and know there is nothing wrong with SpywareBlaster.
     
  15. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I want to say the obvious. But this is a polite forum. So I won't.
     
  16. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    The OP obviously has no clue as to what is happening on his own PC. He has not answered a single question directed to him in an attempt to assist him. These are totally unsubstantiated claims. Troll...possibly. Uneducated...definitely.
    Is that sort of what you wanted to say Zapjb? ;)
     
  17. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi tom meehan

    If you download off of the official website (http://www.javacoolsoftware.com) you can be well assured there is no Malware of any kind included. This product has been in existence for many, many years, and if there was any sort of Malware from the install of this product, there surely would not be an official supporting product forum being hosted at Wilderssecurity.


    SpywareBlaster sets ‘immunities’ for the following areas - ActiveX, Restricted Sites, and Cookies. I have provided some reliable links below that explains about these, the best thing that you can do for you is read thoroughly all those pages


    How to stop an ActiveX control from running in Internet Explorer - http://support.microsoft.com/kb/240797

    Description of Internet Explorer security zones registry entries - http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;182569

    Hey, Scripting Guy! How Can I Add a Site to Internet Explorer’s Restricted Sites Zone - http://www.microsoft.com/technet/scriptcenter/resources/qanda/may05/hey0502.mspx

    Restrict ActiveX Applets in Internet Explorer at Registry Guide for Windows - http://www.pctools.com/guides/registry/detail/1188/


    Once you have read those web pages by following the links that I have giving just above, you might understand the differences between immunities and infections. A few scanning technology that goes through these registry locations can be very problematic and confusing to most, these scanning systems don’t check for state information, instead they simply look for key names existence and flags if existing…

    Example:
    If Exists $Registry("HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\P3P\History\kazaa-lite.ws\") {
    Alert User and try to scare for promoting stupid-ware by showing effectiveness...
    }



    Regards,
    Phant0m``
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2007
  18. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Yes. But you said it more eloquent. Thanks.
     
  19. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.


    Glad to have been of assistance. Believe me, it was not easy coming up with a proper\acceptable wording. :gack: Now let us see if the OP returns and is serious about resolving the problem. :cautious:
     
  20. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,124
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    I think kazaa is the problem if its on his computer. That thing killed one of my computers years ago. Filled it to the brim wit spyware and viruses.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.