I could not re-store my pc...

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by sweater, May 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    I haven't used system restore for about 2 yrs. ...but just last night I tried to restore my pc to previous date of "ok" condition's of which I thought only system restore could solved the problem. But to my dismay, after reboot, it just says the system restore was incomplete and it suggested to use another restore point. But still the same thing happens, it was unsuccessfull, I couldn't restore my pc.

    What is the possible problem why system restore fails? :oops:
     
  2. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,620
    Location:
    Canada
  3. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i learned a long time ago not to trust System Restore for any "mission critical" stuff.

    restoring an image or using 'snapshot' apps are the way to go, imo...
     
  4. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Agreed, System Restore is unreliable.
     
  5. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    As mentioned System Restore is a tool that is not always reliable (it has improved a bit with Vista and Win7, but then why not use their own in built imaging possibilities?). I also think that in your case not to use it for 2 years is basically asking for troubles.

    The best way to use it from experience, is to allow restore points for a month, it is very useful to uninstall completely trial programs, and then after a month you disable it, and re enable it so that you can check its functionality. Reading this forum SR seems to be affected by some defragmenters (boot time types) and some virtualizers (Returnil, and I suspect Shadow Defender in my case has affected my Vista SR).

    I occasionally turn it on, but I also have a vast array of backup images for emergencies and what not.
     
  6. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
  7. squid13

    squid13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    151
    Location:
    Cantonment, FL
    If your antivirus has a tamper protection you have to disable it in some programs. If your using Norton NIS or antivirus you have to go into miscellaneous settings and shut off tamper protection before system restore will work.
     
  8. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    +1. :thumb:
     
  9. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Generally Windows System Restore gives 10GB of restore space, but with updates and installation of software this is eaten up very quickly,and once the 10GB is reached Windows deletes all the old restore points to make room for new ones. A solution to this is to increase the space Windows Restore uses, As an example 2% of a 500GB hard Drive will give you 10GB so Increase this to maybe 4 or 5% or however much you think you may need, then your restore points should remain intact ;)
     
  10. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,331
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    I've not used system restore on Win7 more than a few times, but has worked fine.
    On Win XP I don't even think it work half the time :| - I stopped using it.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.