I cannot backup folders on my NAS drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by flyfoam, Mar 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. flyfoam

    flyfoam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    I have a Buffalo QUAD Linkststation. I use mapped drives. I am trying to backup specific folders on the NAS but I always get the same error using network or mapped drives. I am using TI Workstation build 8163.

    E00040019: Failed to backup file or folder 'music'.

    Failed to backup file or folder. (0x40019)
    Path = "\\?\UNC\Nas1\music",
    Hints = 1)
    Tag = 0xA8A1022BD18AE0C9
    The request is not supported (0xFFF0)
    code = 80070032)
    Tag = 0xBD28FDBD64EDB8AF

    If I try and backup the drive map I get M:\ not found. It sees the drive map when I select the drive for backup but once the backup starts it fails.
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    As far as I know, you can only backup local drives/partitions. You can backup a local drive/partition TO a network location, but you can't backup the network location to somewhere else with Workstation or Home versions of TI.
     
  3. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Acronis doesn't provide backup for NAS.

    RAID array?
     
  4. flyfoam

    flyfoam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    It's RAID 5 but the NAS is using SMB services. I would think that Acronis should be able to handle this.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis Corporate Products

    flyfoam, the latest build for Acronis True image Echo Workstation is build #8206, please install it and see if the issue remains. By the way, what is your operating system?

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  6. flyfoam

    flyfoam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    I upgraded to 8206 and I get the same error. I am using Vista 64.

    E00040019: Failed to backup file or folder 'M:'.

    Failed to backup file or folder. (0x40019)
    Path = "\\?\M:\\",
    Hints = 1)
    Tag = 0xA8A1022BD18AE0C9
    The request is not supported (0xFFF0)
    code = 80070032)
    Tag = 0xBD28FDBD64EDB8AF
     
  7. amarryat

    amarryat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    I don't think that is supposed to be true. Acronis does not list that restriction. In addition, I only encounter this problem with Vista. I have 32 bit Ultimate. XP Pro doesn't have this problem.
     
  8. flyfoam

    flyfoam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    I installed TI workstation on a virtual machine running XP. It can backup the NAS drive with a drive map. It looks like TI has bug with Vista.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello flyfoam,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    Make sure the user account on the NAS belongs to the Administrator group. The Administrator group should also belong to READ/WRITE group. Set backup archive splitting to 2 Gb:

    1. Click "Tools" and select "Options";
    2. Click "Archive splitting" and set the size to 2 GB.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  10. flyfoam

    flyfoam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    I don't think you read my post clearly. I am not backing up to the NAS so I don't need to split any volumes. I want to backup data on the NAS to my local Vista drive. The NAS is in 'public' mode, wide open access to anyone.
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello flyfoam,

    Which filesystem did you format your NAS? Is it possible for you to attach it to local PC and backup directly (it will help us to exclude network connection as the cause)?

    Please also follow to Tools -> Options -> Default Backup Options, then reduce Network Speed setting by half.

    Acronis True Image needs at least 2 simultaneous inbound connections to a Windows network share: Data connection and Control connection.

    Windows XP Home Basic and Windows Vista Home Basic limit the number of simultaneous inbound connections to 5.

    Windows 2000, Windows XP Professional, Windows Vista Home Premium and Windows Vista Ultimate limit the number of simultaneous inbound connections to 10.

    Windows Server operating systems do not have a limitation on the inbound connections.

    To see how many inbound connections are attempting to access the shared folder, do the following:

    1. Click Start -> Run and type in COMPMGMT.MSC;
    2. Click System Tools -> Shared Folders -> Sessions.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexander Nikolsky
     
  12. flyfoam

    flyfoam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    I am using Vista Ultimate. The NAS is EXT filesystem. It shows no sessions. I would like to stress that it works with XP, are you sure it's not an Acronis bug with Vista 64?
     
  13. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello flyfoam,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    Disable UAC and see if the issue persists. Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> User Accounts -> Turn User Account On or Off -> Uncheck “Use User Account Control (UAC) to help protect your computer”.

    Also try the following workaround:

    1. Run Backup Wizard
    2. As soon as "Choose Backup Options" window appears, select "Set the options manually"
    3. In the "Backup Creation Options" window set "Compression level" to "None"
    4. Proceed with the backup

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  14. flyfoam

    flyfoam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    UAC was already disabled. I also turned off compression and it still does not work. This is the error:

    Error with mapped drive:

    E00040019: Failed to backup file or folder 'M:'.

    Failed to backup file or folder. (0x40019)
    Path = "\\?\M:\\",
    Hints = 1)
    Tag = 0xA8A1022BD18AE0C9
    The request is not supported (0xFFF0)
    code = 80070032)
    Tag = 0xBD28FDBD64EDB8AF

    Error using network:
    E00040019: Failed to backup file or folder 'music'.

    Failed to backup file or folder. (0x40019)
    Path = "\\?\UNC\Nas1\music",
    Hints = 1)
    Tag = 0xA8A1022BD18AE0C9
    The request is not supported (0xFFF0)
    code = 80070032)
    Tag = 0xBD28FDBD64EDB8AF
     
  15. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    I have just found that the issue you encounter is an old issue with NAS devices and Vista, starting from Acronis True Image 11 Home. It reproduces on NAS devices but not all NAS have this issue.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  16. flyfoam

    flyfoam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    I have tested Acronis with Samba running on CentOS, Buffalo Quad and TheCus 4100Pro and the results are all the same - it does NOT work.
     
  17. ReMeE

    ReMeE Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    And what is the solution?
     
  18. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello ReMeE,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    There is no solution at the present time. All I can say is that our development is aware of this issue and most probably the solution will be fixed in the next version of Acronis True Image.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  19. Rob7856

    Rob7856 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    I believe I am also having the same issue - I am trying to create a backup of my NAS (DLink DNS-323) to an External HDD and this also fails.

    After some investigation it would seem that Acronis has an issue with Folders / Files that contain long file names. I have a folder on the NAS, which contain a bunch of other folders / Files with Long File names (30+ charaters). Acronis will fail the backup when you select to backup this folder from the NAS, but if I copy the test folder to my local HDD, it backs up fine.

    Can Acronis confirm that this a known issue, and if there is any fix for it?

    Thanks
    Rob
     
  20. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Rob,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    We do have some issues with the backups of files and folders from NAS or shared folders under Windows Vista. But every case needs a separate attention, all circumstances should be taken into consideration.

    You can try to reduce the network speed connection in default backup options, also you can try to create a backup file with the .zip extension.

    Long File names can cause the issue, but the entire file name should consist of more than 256 characters (I mean the absolute path).

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  21. danysnow

    danysnow Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Re: I cannot backup folders on my NAS QNAP 209 pro

    Hi

    I have the same problem

    I have a QNAP NAS 209PRO 2 disk in raid 0 and windows vista 32bit bussines.

    I have Acronis®*True*Image*Echo Workstation® con Acronis Universal Restore® (build*8.206)

    but the same problem.

    by :)
     
  22. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello danysnow,

    Thank you for using Acronis Corporate Products

    We don't have a solution at the present time. You can try to reduce the network speed connection in default backup options, but the proper results are not guaranteed.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  23. flyfoam

    flyfoam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Posts:
    18
    What is even more bizarre is I can backup my NAS using Windows 7 (7100RC).
     
  24. danysnow

    danysnow Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Interesting this :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

    I've try to reduce network speed but ACRONIS don't work

    By :)
     
  25. jehosophat

    jehosophat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    UK
    Based on the track record for Acronis, and the fact that NAS issues have been around for at least 6 months, I hope they get their act together soon.

    But we are probably less than 6 months away from Acronis ATI2010, so I dont expect there will be any new builds before then.

    Frustrating!

    I like the possibility that the backup program in Windows 7 may provide a viable alternative. RC1 is out now but only the final version of Windows 7 will answer the question of which backup program to use.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.