i am a complete newbie all i want is tips in laymans terms please

Discussion in 'encryption problems' started by viking69, Oct 25, 2015.

1. viking69

viking69 Registered Member

I want to encrypt my hard drive (windows home 7) and my external hard drive 3tb. i have tried Reading amongst links and this forum but could someone please explain in very simple terms to me how i go about this, i do NOT know any of the terminology i have read so far, i just want something easy to download, is this possible or is encryption as knowledge demanding as it seems in the formus, thanks in advance.

2. Bob D

Bob D Registered Member

Welcome viking69
    There are many how-to tutorials, such as here: http://lifehacker.com/a-beginners-guide-to-encryption-what-it-is-and-how-to-1508196946
    With the caveat: We generally recommend against average users encrypting their entire drive. Unless you have sensitive files all over your computer, or have other reasons for encrypting the entire thing, it’s easier to encrypt the sensitive files and call it a day. Full disk encryption is more secure, but can also much more problematic if you don’t put in the work to keep everything backed up safely (and then encrypt those backups as well).

3. Pryvate

Pryvate Registered Member

Excellent reply, Bob D , thank you. Viking, I would like to add this : avoid DiskCryptor (software) for the present, because if you are using an up to date computer (like one made in the past 5 years or so) for technical UEFI boot reasons it could render your laptop / PC unbootable (although it's very good software, it's only for experts). Also since you are new to this, you need to be aware that it's quite possible to lose access to all your files and data if you forget your password, or if anything else goes wrong with Windows.

Last edited: Oct 25, 2015
  4. zapjb

zapjb Registered Member

Prediction. This will not end well.

5. Pryvate

Pryvate Registered Member