I am a beginner: Tell me - how to use Shadow Defender

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by ocsi, Apr 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ocsi

    ocsi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Posts:
    95
    I am a beginner, please:Tell me - how to use Shadow Defender (ex.: how to save as good updates for security program for example?).
     
  2. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,305
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    The idea behind virtualization applications, like Shadow Defender, is that user will not need to rely on security application that need constant updating, like anti malware products. All you need to do is enter Shadow mode when you know you're system is clean. Then if you make changes that might have been unintentional just reboot to get it back to the original state. If you want to apply system updates, for example, you'd need to exit shadow mode first, then install them, and then re-enable shadow mode. Remember, you can exclude a directory/file from shadow mode, meaning that whatever happens in that directory will be saved regardless of mode. But, you should use folders that you frequently and intentionally change as excluded.
     
  3. ocsi

    ocsi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Posts:
    95
    How esclude as security software (exempl. update)?
     
  4. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,305
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    As a general rule, I wouldn't. You'd need to exit shadow mode, update, and the re-enter it. But like I said, the idea behind virtualization applications, like Shadow Defender, is that user will not need to rely on security application that need constant updating, like anti malware products. Meaning, you don't need them.

    So, what product are you talking about?
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2011
  5. ocsi

    ocsi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Posts:
    95
    For exemple: antivirus, firewall, windows os etc
     
  6. crapbag

    crapbag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Posts:
    144
    :thumb: I've only recently started using SD and haven't set up any kind of exclusions. Only using on-demand scanners. Clean the hell out of your machine and enter Shadow Mode. If you need to update Windows or other programs just exit Shadow Mode, install, clean the hell out of your machine and re-enter Shadow Mode.

    I understand it's all about layers though, so if you must keep your real-time AV I'm sure someone here can help you allow it to update. In theory it should still update anyway but will revert to whatever date it was when you froze the system upon reboot.
     
  7. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    Program and system updates frequently involve changes to the registry as well as the file system. Registry changes cannot be applied selectively using Shadow Defender so it would then be necessary to save all changes that have occurred while in Shadow Mode, which defeats the purpose of the virtualisation.

    A good way to apply program and system updates is to have a regular maintenance slot where you take the system out of Shadow Mode, apply the updates, and then enter Shadow Mode again when done.
     
  8. ocsi

    ocsi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Posts:
    95
    OK. Thank you all.
     
  9. ocsi

    ocsi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Posts:
    95
    I'm back. This program is OK for me. Now I use: Avast 6 Free + ZoneAlarm Free + Shadow Defender + Sandboxie (I do not know if it is necessary, but ... o_O ).
    Thanks again for your advice.
     
  10. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    You have a good combination there. :)
     
  11. ocsi

    ocsi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Posts:
    95
    I'm back, again. When leaving "Shadow Mod" (Restart PC or Turn Off + Start PC) change the settings of the Taskbar.
    These changes:
    - disables the Show Quick Launch
    and
    - Cusitomize Notifications: icons set "hidden" - become visible
    Why is this happening? What I to do?
     
  12. ocsi

    ocsi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Posts:
    95
    Is so complicated to give an answer? There are no answers to the question presented? It is something special? Finally ... I'm still waiting for response. Not the other, but I want to use the program (which is currently uninstalled).
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.