I am a beginner: Tell me - how to use Shadow Defender

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by ocsi, Apr 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ocsi

ocsi Registered Member

I am a beginner, please:Tell me - how to use Shadow Defender (ex.: how to save as good updates for security program for example?).

2. n8chavez

n8chavez Registered Member

The idea behind virtualization applications, like Shadow Defender, is that user will not need to rely on security application that need constant updating, like anti malware products. All you need to do is enter Shadow mode when you know you're system is clean. Then if you make changes that might have been unintentional just reboot to get it back to the original state. If you want to apply system updates, for example, you'd need to exit shadow mode first, then install them, and then re-enable shadow mode. Remember, you can exclude a directory/file from shadow mode, meaning that whatever happens in that directory will be saved regardless of mode. But, you should use folders that you frequently and intentionally change as excluded.

3. ocsi

ocsi Registered Member

How esclude as security software (exempl. update)?

4. n8chavez

n8chavez Registered Member

As a general rule, I wouldn't. You'd need to exit shadow mode, update, and the re-enter it. But like I said, the idea behind virtualization applications, like Shadow Defender, is that user will not need to rely on security application that need constant updating, like anti malware products. Meaning, you don't need them.

So, what product are you talking about?

Last edited: Apr 6, 2011
  5. ocsi

ocsi Registered Member

For exemple: antivirus, firewall, windows os etc

6. crapbag

crapbag Registered Member