HP Pavillion a6760a

Discussion in 'hardware' started by DVD+R, Jul 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    I picked up this desktop free, as a neighbour bought a new one, and asked if I wanted it. It has Core2Duo E7400 @ 2.80Ghz and 2GB DDR2 RAM + nVidia 9300GE 256MB. It had windows vista installed, and I've wiped the drive, and loaded it with Windows & Pro x64. I'm wondering if it will run DDR3 RAM, and If it will take a higher graphics card, maybe 512MB or 1GB Also what processor can I upgrade this too? I'm curious as it may not be too costly, and I can keep it as a spare backup unit, should anything happen to my main ones.
     
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,940
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  3. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Thanks JR ;) followed those links, and managed to customize this little machine into somewhat of a speed demon, upgraded to 3.2Ghz, added 2 extra Gigs of RAM changed to Asus EAH 5450 PCI-E 1GB 64-bit DDR3 DVI/HDMI and finally Western Digital Caviar Green Power ( 2TB ) 2000GB/SATAIII/3.5"/64MB

    It now runs perfectly great, not a beast, but a beast's baby brother;)
     
  4. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,940
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    DVD+R, you're welcome! Glad the info helped. Take care.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.