HP Pavillion a6760a

Discussion in 'hardware' started by DVD+R, Jul 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    I picked up this desktop free, as a neighbour bought a new one, and asked if I wanted it. It has Core2Duo E7400 @ 2.80Ghz and 2GB DDR2 RAM + nVidia 9300GE 256MB. It had windows vista installed, and I've wiped the drive, and loaded it with Windows & Pro x64. I'm wondering if it will run DDR3 RAM, and If it will take a higher graphics card, maybe 512MB or 1GB Also what processor can I upgrade this too? I'm curious as it may not be too costly, and I can keep it as a spare backup unit, should anything happen to my main ones.
     
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    28,628
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  3. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Thanks JR ;) followed those links, and managed to customize this little machine into somewhat of a speed demon, upgraded to 3.2Ghz, added 2 extra Gigs of RAM changed to Asus EAH 5450 PCI-E 1GB 64-bit DDR3 DVI/HDMI and finally Western Digital Caviar Green Power ( 2TB ) 2000GB/SATAIII/3.5"/64MB

    It now runs perfectly great, not a beast, but a beast's baby brother;)
     
  4. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    28,628
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    DVD+R, you're welcome! Glad the info helped. Take care.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.