HowTO: Restore using the Console

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by HHi, Aug 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HHi

HHi Registered Member

As many I'm very new to the product Enterprise Workstation 8.0.

I set up a server where images reside on a share.

Now I want to restore an image on a Windows XP workstation from this server by using the management console.

It does not work for me, I get a message that there are open files on this workstation/partition. The list however is emptyo_O? What exactly do i need to install on this workstation? I make backup initiated from the server, which works fine too.

When I use F11 on the workstation, everything works OK. But I need to manage the workstations from a central place, not by sneakering through the building!

What is wrong? My expectation of the product, my approach, any help is appreciated.

Does some know a more in depth document than the User Guide?

Regards,

Henk

Last edited: Aug 17, 2005
  2. Acronis Support

Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

Hello Henk,

Thank you for choosing Acronis Workstation Disk Backup Software.

It looks like you are trying to restore the system partition remotely. I'm afraid that Acronis True Image Corporate Workstation 8.0 does not allow you to do this. Only logical partitions can be restored remotely.

In case you want to deploy an image of the preconfigured operating system to the several workstations over the network, I recommend you to use Acronis Snap Deploy for your purposes.

We recommend you to download and install the free trial version to see how the software works on your computer.

You can find more information on how to use Acronis Snap Deploy in the respective User's Guide.

However, if that's not the case then please provide me with the more detailed information on the problem.

Please describe actions taken before the problem appears step-by-step.

Tell me what exact error messages you have received.