How to use UR in BartPE rescue CD with ATIES?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jaycee, Oct 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jaycee

    jaycee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Posts:
    186
    Hi,

    Due to some compatibility problems with virtual machines, i am trying to restore my images through a BartPE Rescue CD with the Acronis Plugin included.
    The problem is i do not have the Universal Restore options, and so cannot use this very nice fonction.

    Please tell me how i can make it work under BartPE if it is possible....

    Thanx for your help,


    Jaycee
     
  2. jaycee

    jaycee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Posts:
    186
    Ok, i had seen the post on Mustang's plugin, but didnt see how far it was going...

    Am trying to make it work, but it seems to be my solution.

    Thanx Mustang!
     
  3. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Your welcome.

    I've done this. Here's how:

    1. Make your new VM with a SCSI hard drive.

    2. Add my vmware tools plugin to your BartPE. This will add the SCSI driver support as well as the rest of the features of VMWare Tools including file sharing and mouse support.

    3. Add my TI9 plugin to your BartPE.

    4. Do the restore of the physical machine to the new VM under BartPE using Universal Restore.

    5. The new VM should boot with no BSOD.

    Good luck.
     
  4. jaycee

    jaycee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Posts:
    186
    Thanx Mustang again ;)

    The only trick is I'm using MS Virtual Server 2005, and the plugin i found for VirtualPC doesnt have the same files, i'm a little stuck...

    I only have a serial problem with your plugin, and it will be a closed case ;)

    Jaycee
     
  5. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Sorry, I thought you were using VMWare. Yes, my VMAdditions plugin is based on MS Virtual PC 2004. At some point, when I get time, I'll make a plugin for Virtual Server 2005.

    In the meantime, go to the 911 CD forum and search for Virtual Server 2005. Someone posted how they modified my plugin to get to work.
     
  6. jaycee

    jaycee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Posts:
    186
    I got it!

    I miss a few files, so i had to chop off some lines from the ini...

    But seems to work ok, if there is better to come i'll take it, but it does work for now...

    Just tried the UR in Bart, seems good to me!

    Thanx Mustang and all people posting how to get it up and working!

    Jaycee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.