How to Update NOD without Internet? No Mirror!

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by guruuno, Nov 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. guruuno

    guruuno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Posts:
    61
    Small office 3 PC's, NOD32 v3, all running XP.
    Peer to Peer Network.
    All Static IP's.
    DSL + Netgear Router.
    Blocking Internet at Router via IP block, no HTTP, for 2 PC's.
    Cannot update NOD32 on those 2 PC's.
    Don't want to make the PC that has Internet Access the 'Update Server' mirroring AV defs to specific port, this is a SIMPLE 3 PC network.
    How can I update NOD32 with HTTP blocked, and not using a mirror to do so?
    (I am sure there a LOTS of PC's in the real world in small businesses and offices that have Internet access blocked, so this has to be able to be done)
    The router, a Netgear WNR834BV2, only blocks services by IP.
    Anyone?
     
  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Hello!

    Policy . You need a business edition license for 5 or more computers to have the Mirror option for off-line updates on computers that have no access to the Internet or the ESET servers.


    You cannot update NOD32 . You need a Mirror or Internet access . I really don't know why you "Don't want to make the PC that has Internet Access the 'Update Server' mirroring AV defs to specific port" - that is stupid .
     
  3. guruuno

    guruuno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Posts:
    61
    Because, I don't need 5 licenses for 3 PC's.
    I don't want to have 2 PC's with Internet access.
    Why can't NOD32 have the ability to update via HTTPS or other means....
    It's not "stupid", it's keeping irresponsible employees off of the web, and saving money for 3 PC's with MINIMAL support, configuration and upkeep.
    Dummy
     
  4. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Huh, how would that exactly help when you've already blocked all internet access on those two PCs? :rolleyes:

    You can either whitelist ESETs update servers on the router so that the AV is able to do its update job, or buy business edition and create a local mirror for updates.
     
  5. guruuno

    guruuno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Posts:
    61
    Port 81 isn't 80
    Where do I get the "white list" to add to the router, they are not listed in the NOD32 app?
     
  6. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    NOD32 Update Servers
     
  7. guruuno

    guruuno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Posts:
    61
    Thank you for you help, I appreciate it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.