How To Stop Software Phoning Home

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by TerryWood, Apr 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    703
    Hi

    Not sure whether this is the right forum however...

    I use Comodo D+ and I would like to understand the basics of how I stop software phoning hom

    Anyone help

    Thanks

    Terry
     
  2. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Here is one to think about. What if the Firewall phones home and you cant stop it. Software phones home for updates or other non intrusive things. The only reason I could ever think of stoping my software from phoning home is if it was pirated.
     
  3. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    what software would you like to stop from phoning? Comodo will alert you but some you need to allow some and some you don't have to allow
     
  4. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,730
    Location:
    localhost
    Prevention comes first, remove any software you don't trust. :)
     
  5. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    idd - good answer :thumb:

    :D

    you need to know the possibilities for "phonehome"
    - direct
    - ieframe
    - ie window
    - service
    - systemcall
    ...

    options vary - so you have to judge carefully with D+ and what action is called.
    (behaviorblocker!)
     
  6. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    You can use Firewal/Avanced/Network Security Policy and create rules to keep applications from phoning home or to a strange server (like a text editor should't phone home). I also use Threatfire Behaviorblocker in addition to comodo's Behaviorblocker, I also hear that ThreatFire slows somepeoples surfing speed down.
     
  7. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    Depends on what you want to stop, and what does the application need internet connection for, apart from phoning home. Also, if you get news about new updates for you programs from tech sites or programs which check if all you programs are up to date you wouldn't need it to check for updates itself.
    Long story short, the easiest way is blocking the software internet connection alltogether, but then you need to look at the pros and cons first.
     
  8. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    703
    Hi

    OK how do you block th internet connection?

    Thanks

    Terry
     
  9. Syncman9

    Syncman9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    UK
    You need to block the internet connection for individual programs within the firewall part of the product. I can't be more specific as I haven't used Comodo products for a while.

    As mentioned previously, unless the product is pirated, there is rarely a reason to block it's internet access.

    The more complex way would be to set the firewall to monitor traffic for individual programs, you could then review the log for the IP address of home and block them.
     
  10. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    use your system's HOSTS file...
     
  11. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    You could if you knew just what websites you wanted to block.
     
  12. 2good

    2good Guest

  13. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Why are you asking him to completely remove MS Windows :)
     
  14. CogitoTesting

    CogitoTesting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Posts:
    901
    Location:
    Sea of Tranquility, Luna
    Fantastic idea please come over to Linux Ubuntu. :D

    Thanks.
     
  15. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    Using a HOSTS file only works if the software tries to connect do a domain, not if it connects directly to an IP adress. I would advise blocking through firewall but I'm also not familiar with Comodo's products.
     
  16. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    wrong - the hosts file can also block ips
    eg 127.0.0.1 74.82.123.92

    as long the programs use the windows socket they can be blocked with the hosts file.
    if they install their own socket only a firewall may help - but that way has to be blocked with LUA (limited user account) or other blocked mechanisms.
     
  17. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    ^ Zactly ^
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.