How to stop LAN Traffic?

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by alabala, Feb 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. alabala

    alabala Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4
    Hi everybody,

    I've been using Look'n'Stop for more than 1 year without any problems and now I encountered a problem I could not solve.

    Does somebody know how to stop all traffic from the router to the PC by using Look'n'Stop? There is a "Stop button" in many other firewalls but I could not find anything similar in Look'n'Stop :( .

    I will appreciate your help.
     
  2. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    Just duplicate the "All packets" rule (which is at the bottom of the ruleset) and put the dupplicate rule on top of the list. Remove the ! for this new rule (if you don't want alerts in the log).

    Doing that, the START/STOP button is the green checkbox on the left of the new rule.

    Regards,

    Frederic
     
  3. alabala

    alabala Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks alot for the suggestion.

    Something is wrong maybe with my firewall because this action doesn't stop the traffic. Do I need to change anything else besides saving the new changes?

    Thank you in advance.
     
  4. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi alabala

    I've seen alot of requests in the past for a feature like this, where you simply right click on Look 'n' Stop systray icon and select "Block ALL".


    At the moment to achieve you must follow Frederic's instructions precisely.

    - Take the bottom rule labelled "Block : All other packets", select and right click on that rule, goto "Duplicate", now select the new one and right click and goto "Cut", now goto the very top of the rule-set and select the very TOP rule and right click and goto "Paste above". Now click on "Apply" and then "Save" buttons.

    To disable BLOCK-ALL, disable that top rule and apply. :)
     
  5. alabala

    alabala Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4
    Thank you guys, both of you - Frederic and Phant0m,

    This time I followed the instructions precisely and everything went just great.

    Thanks again! :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.