How to speed up Windows 7 on 1.2 Ghz core solo netbook?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by mattdocs12345, Jan 10, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    Okay so I own this netbook:

    Thinkpad x120e
    Windows 7 Professional
    AMD 1.2Ghz core solo
    3GB ram
    SSD

    I have done a fresh install of Windows 7 Professional. Still when I run Chrome it is a little slow to play Netflix. The CPU goes over to 100% quite often and sometimes even freezes the entire system. This is on a fresh install of Windows 7 with no malware, viruses, etc..

    Is there anything that can be done to cut down on the CPU usage by Windows 7? Also I would rather not put Linux on it as I already run Linux on my main laptop.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2014
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,772
    Location:
    Texas
    If you type Windows Experience in the Start button, search, there should be some suggestions.

    I use a single core AMD here myself. Ninety percent of the the time, it is adequate.
     
  3. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    I run into a similar problem with Chrome on Win 7x64, but not that drastic. I get some higher than usual cpu issues when running flash video in Chrome. You might try another browser, Firefox or IE for example, and see if the problem persists. I get higher cpu in Chrome only, but Firefox and IE are fine... just a thought. :)
     
  4. Gullible Jones

    Gullible Jones Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,461
    What graphics chipset does the netbook have? Is it possible your drivers are out of date?
     
  5. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    From my experiance on even more lower end laptop Chrome has lowest CPU usage compared to IE or Firefox.

    I keep everything up to date.
     
  6. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Ok, just an idea. My experience is a bit different... In linux Chromium works great, but in Win, I have issues... strange, but true.
     
  7. Sordid

    Sordid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Posts:
    221
    Yup use W7 user experience and kill unnecessary animations etc

    Configure to not use transparency.

    Remove all junk. Use EMET and a password manager at most.

    The above will lower W7s usage.

    ******

    For Chrome--switch to an updated npapi.

    But you may have much better luck with another browser. I remember IE and FF being very good on CPU. As much as I love Chrome, it's a hog.


    ******

    ThinkPad tips:

    They don't use the best thermal paste. Check CPU temps. & of all the IBM/Lenovos I've ruined--it's normally the paste that fails way before the hardware does bar fans, monitor pixels, and off-market HDDs (you have SSD so should be good).

    3 GB and SSD really helps. A solo core is basically useless in today's day and age.


    ******

    & IMO the fix that will work the most--lower overhead from the get go:

    In Netflix, you can lower stream quality. Or find some gear that does this in the browser if you don't want these native Netflix settings translating to other computers that you use that can stream 720p etc.

    480p should be cool for most.

    ~~~~~

    You should consider a ROKU box or similar. Will stream flawlessly and use much less electricity cost wise. Find a second gen on a wootoff or such for cheap.
     
  8. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    Okay so I reinstalled Windows 7. I disabled most of the non-vital services, themes, etc and Im running IE11. Netflix playback works fine however the computer is still a bit slow. CPU is constantly at 100%.
    Is there any browser that will make itself look like IE and that is less CPU intensive? I think this would solve my problem since Silverlight/Flash are resource hungry.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2014
  9. Aryeh Goretsky

    Aryeh Goretsky Security Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    United States
    Hello,

    I have a ThinkPad X120e myself.

    Are you using Lenovo's factory pre-load of Microsoft Windows 7 or a retail install of the operating system?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  10. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    I have erased preload and I did a fresh Windows 7 install.
     
  11. Masterblaster

    Masterblaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    260
    Location:
    USA
    I use a program called Game Booster. You can find it here for free http://www.iobit.com/gamebooster.html
    It tends to have more impact on lower end systems like yours.
    I would give it a try if I were you.
     
  12. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    516
    Location:
    United States
    This is a guide to making a win7 install for benching. Should give you idea's for your pc.
     
  13. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    Wow just wow. Thank you!
     
  14. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,718
    Talking about Chrome, you might want to mess around with hardware acceleration setting.
     
  15. Aryeh Goretsky

    Aryeh Goretsky Security Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    United States
    Hello,

    I typically recommend people stay with the Lenovo pre-load since they usually do not contain a lot of pre-loaded garbage, and what little there is can be easily removed via the Programs and Features (filename: APPWIZ.CPL) applet in the Control Panel.

    That said, the best thing to do after a retail operating system load is to download and run Lenovo's ThinkVantage System Update software and use that to install the remaining ThinkPad-specific drivers and software for the X120e.

    When finished, you can run Microsoft Update to download updates for the operating system. That may take several series of installations and restarts as various components are updated.

    The AMD CPU in the X120e has an integrated video chip based on the Radeon HD 6310M GPU. The latest version of the drivers is v13.14 (WHQL). As far as I know, Lenovo hasn't released their own versions of these yet, and I am not sure if Microsoft Update is providing them for the X120e. You can download them directly from:

    32-bit: http://www2.ati.com/DriverS/mobile/13-12_mobility_win7_win8_32_dd_ccc_whql.exe
    64-bit: http://www2.ati.com/DriverS/mobile/13-12_mobility_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc_whql.exe


    At that point, the operating system should be in decent shape.


    Regards,


    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  16. DoctorPC

    DoctorPC Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Posts:
    813
    \

    Believe it or not, upgrading to Windows 8.1 may actually speed it up.

    My wifes 5 year old laptop is now running 8.1, and it is considerably lighter, and snappier then it was under Windows 7. Not kidding.
     
  17. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    True for me also. I am amazed. 8.1 with Classic Shell is faster than 7. Probably without Classic Shell. But without Classic Shell it's quite unusable for me.
     
  18. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    It probably would. I was thinking about it but Im unwilling to spend more than the $19.99 promotion which expired.
     
  19. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,566
    X120e comes with an AMD E-240 which is a 1.5ghz cpu and not 1.2ghz. Is it a typo of yours or does it really run at 80% of its capabilities?

    Panagiotis
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2014
  20. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Also if it is an AMD E-series processor, that's probably why it's slow. The E-series is comparable to Intel's Atom though perhaps with better graphics.
     
  21. Aryeh Goretsky

    Aryeh Goretsky Security Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    United States
    Hello,

    The ThinkPad X120e shipped with two different processor options:

    AMD Fusion E-240 (1.50GHz, 512KB L2 cache, single-core)
    AMD Fusion E-350 (1.60GHz, 1MB L2 cache, dual-core)

    The CPU in the X120e is soldered onto the system planar (motherboard) and cannot be upgraded without swapping the motherboard.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  22. Wroll

    Wroll Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    Italy
    I would "upgrade" the machine to Chrome OS or XP.
     
  23. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    Yes sorry guys. It was a typo. Its 1.5 ghz.
    Im gonna try to trim down that Windows 7 this weekend and see where it gets me. My goal is to be able to play Netflix without freezing up.
     
  24. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,566
    "Trimming" your OS won't do any good. It seems that there is a problem with silverlight and netflix (seems that does not use hardware acceleration for playing the content), more info here http://connect.microsoft.com/Visual...pear-to-do-hw-acceleration-of-netflix-content

    Panagiotis
     
  25. BobbyTaylor

    BobbyTaylor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Microsoft and AMD worked together to tune Window 8.1 and increased performance on AMD APUs by about 10-15%. Installing fresh 8.1, running Lenovo Update, then installing the AMD chipset/video drivers has gotten me considerably better performance than Win 7.

    I guess that was an added benefit of AMD's hardware being in the new XBox One, which I believe uses a Windows kernel.

    Another interesting thing is I heard the E240 were dual core with one locked. There may be a way to unlock it...?

    http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/288631-28-athlon-core-unlocking

     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.