How to Specify Snapshot Location?

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by niteghost, Aug 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. niteghost

    niteghost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    122
    Hmmm.. don't seem to find where to specify , the location of storing the Created Snapshot. Looked thru' the Option, but cannot find anything there.
    I afraid if I defragment my files with O&O DEFRAGMENTER OR dISKEEPER , it might affect the Snapshots.
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2006
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046
    Hi Niteghost

    You can't specify the location of snapshots only archives. Defragments won't affect snapshots. You should exclude $isr.bin. It's best not to move that file. Note Raxco's Perfect Disk automatically excludes it. If it is moved a reboot finds it, but thats not to good if the system crashes and can't reboot.

    Pete

    PS. I wouldn't bother defragging archives. Takes forever and really doesn't help.
     
  3. niteghost

    niteghost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    122
    Trying to understand this.. Isn't all the Snapshots are in my C:\ drive? If I Defragment my C;\, I don't have a choice but to Defragment those Snapshots as well, unless I use Perfec Disk, ..... Yes?
     
  4. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    All snapshots are on [C:], but I don't understand it either.
    Peter is talking about excluding $isr.bin and I can't find that file on my [C:].
    What doesn't exist, can't be excluded.
    I can't help you any further, because I use PerfectDisk. Peter has to give more explanation :D
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046
    All the defraggers will indeed defrag all of c:\ which will include all your snapshots.

    First Defense keeps one hidden file $ISR.BIN which I can only see looking in one of my images. That file is needed when you boot with FDISR, and it needs to stay in a fixed location on the disk. If it gets moved then the next boot you probably won't see the preboot. FDISR then relocates it and on follow up reboots all is okay.

    Enter defragging. Perfect disk being a Raxco product detects FDISR being present on your system and excludes it automatically. If you use other defraggers, like diskkeeper then you should exclude it manually.

    Hope that helps.

    Pete
     
  6. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    You don't have to exclude anything in PD, because the exclusion is inside the program of PD.
    However I can NOT find the file $ISR.bin in any of my snapshots.
     
  7. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Only the MBR gets protected in PD, by protected I mean not moved, but EVERYTHING gets defragged.

    Acadia
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2006
  8. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    If there is an exclusion of $isr.bin, you won't find it there, because the programmer of PD programmed the exclusion inside the program and you can't read the program, unless you have the source code.
     
  9. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I believe you !!! :)
    The $isr.bin doesn't even exist. It could be a non-existing argument to sell more PD's. :D
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046
    Did you guys misread what I said. I don't think the statement I said any snapshots are excluded.

    Now as to the $Isr.bin. Right now I am restoring an image. When done I will post a screen shot that will explain.

    Pete
     
  11. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Oops, I read too fast. :oops:

    Acadia
     
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046
    I guess Erik's description of the exclusion being hard coded fits.

    Here is a screen shot where I can set exclusions. I haven't set any.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046
    ANd here is a screen shot after I ran the defrag. The highlighted file is automatically set by Perfect Disk. It should be manually set in other defraggers, if possible.

    Pete
     

    Attached Files:

  14. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Thanks for the screens and info Peter. :)
     
  15. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    A minor technical correction: At least as it shows in the PerfectDisk Exclusions screen on my machnine, the file in question shows as "$ISRBIN", not "$ISR.BIN"
     
  16. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046
    You are totally correct. Seems like it used to be $isr.bin, I may be wrong there also. It is indeed $ISRBIN

    Pete
     
  17. Defenestration

    Defenestration Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    1,086
    I see from the exclusion screenshot that C:\$ISR\0\$ISRBIN is excluded. Was this screenshot taken when you only had one snapshot, or does this $ISRBIN file only reside in the '0' folder (and not '1', '2', '3' etc when you have more snapshots) ?
     
  18. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046
    I suspect there is only one copy of the file. It is the file that the mbr sends the machine to so it gets the preboot.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.