How to restore TO a network drive?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by rnconync, Sep 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rnconync

    rnconync Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    This may seem liek a dumb question, but I for some reason cannot find the answer.

    How do I go about restoring and image TO a network drive? Such as a nas or any other kind of mapped network drive? No matter how I have gone about the restore, I cannot choose anything but a local disk to restore an image to.

    thanks
     
  2. Thamuz

    Thamuz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Posts:
    78
    What version of True Image are you using?

    What are you trying to restore?
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    TI won't image network drives or restore images to network drives. You can only do Files & Folders backups/restores to network drives.

    However, if you have a NAS that also has a USB connection, you could connect it directly to the computer running TI and create or restore an image to it.
     
  4. rnconync

    rnconync Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    I'm using Trueimage 9.1 workstation

    Hmmm...yet another thing that I cannot see how Acronis has not included some how...Maybe I need to find another product..

    it does have a USB conneciton, but it's in a completely different bart of the building that the PC which does the backups...

    Is there really no way to restore to a network driveo_O I can't believe this :(
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    This has been posted many times. TI can not get exclusive access to a NAS or network share. As a result, it can't lock the drive and create an image. The same problem means it can't do a restore.

    As far as I know, the only network devices that can be imaged using Workstation (or Enterprise) are the NAS or Network data servers than will let you install the TI Agent on them. Most of the cheaper NAS devices don't allow software programs to be installed.

    You might take a look at this thread: Networked computer hard drive backups
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2007
  6. rnconync

    rnconync Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    Thanks for the link, I'll have a look at it...I couldnt't find anything helpful when searching before...

    The device I am using is an Infrant Readynas NV+ ...I'm not sure if it will allow me to install the agent or not, I'll have to look in to it..
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.