how to resize window safely

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by yst, Jul 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yst

    yst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    Hello:

    I want to use dds to resize os xp in partition c,(now the disk space below 1 gb,I cannot do defrag anymore because of the disk space)and worry very much because I do not have this experience and knowledge,if after resize the window cannot boot again ,then
    I think if I can back up beforehand,it could be capable to restore my previous partition.
    But I wonder could acronis true image can do this,or partition recovery can do this ,which backup I have to do before so to ensure I can back to normal if something go wrong?Or have I to know some dos command and repair console to repair it?But I have Restoreit installed already,will it conflict with acronis line of product and making it unworkable and problems?

    if using director suite ,what should be very careful in order to make it proceed smoothly?I want to take the space from partition e ,then use that space to enlarge partition c.Because I surf the forum know some cases can make window unbootable,therefore asking for advice what to do,I do not want to resintall window after resizing failure.

    Thanks for advance.
    o_O :'(
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I recommend doing an entire drive backup (using True Image or another imaged based backup program) before making changes to the partitions. The software is supposed to be non-destructive, but sometimes things happen.

    Are the two partitions next to eachother? [C: partition][E: partition]

    You should be able to shrink the E: partition from the left side. (If you can't resize from the left side, then resize from the right side and move the partition over.) Once that's done, then enlarge the C: partition from the right side to use the unallocated space.

    I would also recommend doing the procedure from the DD cd as it will require a reboot if started in Windows and initiating partition procedures in the Windows version of DD that require a reboot don't always work.

    I have never used Restoreit so I don't know if there would be any conflicts or not.
     
  3. yst

    yst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    Thanks you for remind me to backup the whole drive(because I suppose only backup the c drive )I will try it .:)
     
  4. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    Hi, In the graphical layout of the disk in the partitionmanager i have to the most left part.D(recovery) to the right of D there is part. C and then a newly created part.O for data.I think the disk layout is wrong,so i doesnt dare go any further in creating the new partition,so maybe you guys can say something about it. fyr i just purchased diskdirector version 10.

    huub.
     
  5. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    hi there,i also tried the created bootdisk from the isofile,but you guess...mouse not working !! this is all on a SATA drive.

    huub.
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Huupi,

    Can you post a screenshot of DD showing your current disk layout?

    Is this how it is: [Recovery D:][Windows C:][Data O:]

    What exactly are you trying to do? Increase the C: partition size? Create another partition using space taken from one of the existing partitions?

    What kind of mouse are you using? USB, PS/2, etc. If it's USB, can you try a PS/2 mouse? For USB, check the BIOS settings for a Legacy USB option and try it both enabled and disabled and see if it works one way.

    I assume you are using the lastest build of DD (2,160).
     
  7. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    Correct,i will take away some free space from my C partition to create the O partition it should be very easy to do but failed up until now.in another thread i say something not so nice about Acronis but i am so disapointed.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Yeah, I saw your other post. I don't blame you for being frustrated.

    I know the program is supposed to work when you start the procedure in Windows and it has to reboot to finish it since Windows won't let any changes be made to the System partition while Windows is running. Unfortunately, it doesn't always work correctly.

    If booting into the Full mode of DD from the CD doesn't work for you (because of the mouse not working) then try the Safe mode. If you don't have the Safe mode version on your CD, then use the Acronis Media Builder program to create another cd and include both the Full and Safe mode versions of DD.

    I have a USB keyboard and mouse and DD Safe mode detects them okay. You can also just use the keyboard, though it's much easier to use the mouse.

    If DD Safe mode works, then do the procedures in two separate steps. First shrink the C: partition and apply those changes. Then create the new partition and apply those changes.

    When you boot back into Windows you'll probably have to use DD or Windows Disk Management to assign the O: letter if that's what you want to use.
     
  9. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    Thanks MudCrab i will try that,i keep you posted.
     
  10. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    Hi Mudcrap, You drags me from the mud,at last i managed to get a new partition,i follow your very meaningfull suggestions,it was the safe mode that saves my bud,and yes mouse was working !!So thank you,you are invalueable to the novice to get us on the right track,i will delete my obstinate post !

    Huub.
     
  11. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    That's 2 for MudCrap and 1 for MudClaw, if anyone is keeping score... :D

    Huupi,

    I'm glad you got it to work correctly. Personally, I like having several different methods of using TI/DD. They have the Full mode (Linux-based), the Safe mode (DOS-based) and you can also put them on a BartPE cd (Windows-based). That gives you three different programs to work with. If one doesn't work correctly, hopefully one of the others will.
     
  12. internetexplorer

    internetexplorer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Re: how to resize window safelyo_Oo_Oo_O?

    WTF, excuse me, what in the name of anything that makes sense does this thread have to do with resizing any windows? The only place in any of these comments that even comes close to the subject is the title of ALL of them?! Maybe the webmaster would want to correct those and/or put a suggestion on where to find helpful material to people sent here by their search engine.
     
  13. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Don't forget to take into consideration that not everyone's native language is English.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.