How to remove the new sidebar in Google Search

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Mrkvonic, May 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello,

    Following the storm of emotions since Google launched a new version of their website/search, which now features a sidebar on the left side, I've decided to blitz-write a tutorial that explains how the sidebar can be disabled.

    The article lists several solutions, including extensions for Firefox and Chrome and using alternative Google search domains for all browsers.

    http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/google-sidebar.html


    Cheers,
    Mrk
     
  2. Night_Raven

    Night_Raven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    388
    Since the article doesn't mention any solutions for Internet Explorer and Opera I'll do it.

    For Internet Explorer one must install IE7Pro then open install this script by opnening the link in Internet Explorer, clicking install as a user script on the right side and finally clicking Install in the newly opened window. Done!

    For Opera is even easier as it already supports Greasemonkey scripts, so there is no need to install additional software. A user needs to first specify a folder for custom user scripts in the browser: Tools -> Preferences -> Advanced -> Content -> JavaScript Options..., then enter the path in the field at the bottom of the dialogue window (or click Choose... and navigate to the folder). Hit OK on all windows. Then just download this script by right-clicking on Install -> Save Linked Content As... and saving the file to the already appointed folder in Opera. Finaly just restart the browser and voila.

    Another way to go (for Opera) is to use a custom CSS:
    1) copy and paste the following text in Notepad:
    Code:
    div#leftnav { display: none !important; }
    #center_col { margin-left: 0px !important; }
    2) save the file with a .css extension (some_name.css) in a convenient folder (the root Opera folder is a good choice);
    3) load Google, right-click anywhere on empty space on the page -> Edit Site Preferences... -> Display, then type the name to the already created .css file in the field at the bottom (or use the Choose... button);
    4) refresh Google.
    Note: as this method is domain specific, if one is using one or more different (localized) versions of Google, one would have to point to the .css file for each page/domain.

    I've personally tested these things and they work.

    P.S.: Sorry about the wall of text and lack of more convenient formatting but I'm kind of sleepy right now... for some reason.
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2010
  3. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Thank you. With your permission, I'll add that to the article with credits to you.
    Mrk
     
  4. Night_Raven

    Night_Raven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    388
    Well, those aren't really my scripts or ideas, I just found them for myself while I was searching for solutions after I realised how much the new Google crap was bugging me.

    Anyway, if you want to use this on your page, I don't mind at all. Also, you can go through it and make things clearer (or you can even rewrite the whole thing if needed), as I'm not operating at optimum efficiency at the moment and might have expressed myself not as well as I would have liked to and/or should have. :) One more reason to do so is the fact that english is not my native language.
     
  5. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    or change search engine i've changed cause google is getting to power hungry and takes no notice of all the complaints so fg
     
  6. Pinga

    Pinga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1,420
    Location:
    Europe
    Probably the easiest way to do this is by using this Stylish script:


    @namespace url(http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml);

    @-moz-document url-prefix("http://www.google.com/search") {

    #leftnav,#rhs{

    display: none !important;

    }

    #center_col,#foot{

    margin-left: 0 !important;

    border-left: none !important;

    }

    div[class="s hc"]{

    max-width: 64em !important;

    }

    }


    http://userstyles.org/styles/29630
     
  7. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
  8. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Maybe i'm lucky :D but i don't see the sidebar, even with cookies and scripting enabled. I normally surf without such things for most of the time, and use Scroogle anyway. Not sure why i get the results i do, but i'm not complaining :D just curious ?

    ff.gif

    ie6.gif
     
  9. squid13

    squid13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    151
    Location:
    Cantonment, FL
  10. mvario

    mvario Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Posts:
    339
    Location:
    Haddonfield, IL
    I'm using this script:
    Google Left Navigation Panel Popup
    http://userstyles.org/styles/29619
    which hides it, but give you a fly-out if you should need to access it.

    I'm using it with GreaseMonkey, but there is a version for Stylish and versions for other browsers (available on the same page).
     
  11. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Interesting, i'm now seeing the sidebar in FF, but not IE6 ?

    o_O :doubt:
     
  12. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  13. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Today both FF and IE6 shows NO sidebar o_O

    Wierd, but not complaining :D :thumb:
     
  14. abu shofwan

    abu shofwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Posts:
    358
    Location:
    Earth
  15. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    Am I missing something? Google used to show little pay ads on the right side, has for years now. Since the last day or two, those are gone, but replaced by the new area on the left, which I assume is the sidebar? What is the issue with it? I did not lose any screen-space. Is there a concern, or just some people lose screen-space.

    Sul.
     
  16. LockBox

    LockBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    2,275
    Location:
    Here, There and Everywhere
    Hi Sully...

    A major problem is they've maybe knocked Scroogle out of the game. See this thread: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?goto=newpost&t=272361
     
  17. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.