How to recover tib file from ASZ

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by toyo, May 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. toyo

    toyo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Hello,

    I have made a fresh XP SP3 installation some weeks ago and I realized it would be very useful for me to have the first image I created of a clean, updated SP3 on dvd.
    Problem is, I used ASZ for the backup, and there is already a incremental job done.
    Please, is there a way for me to recover the original tib from ASZ so I can split it on some dvd9s or something. I won't mind even if it has to be the incremented archive... I tried my best doing recovering the tib, by doing a backup for ASZ, and then mounting/exploring it, but what do you know... instead of 2 tibs I found more tibs and some folders, it's obvious ATI has it's own way of managing ASZ, and I decided on listening first to some specialists.

    Thank you in advance for your answers and time.
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Now you know why so many of us hate the SZ and won't use it. There isn't a method of recovering the backup. You can make a new image of the entire SZ from the Rescue CD, but that's a pretty bad workaround, and it may not allow you to restore from the image.

    Sorry
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    It might help to know what version and build of TI you are using.

    Normally, you can get files out of the SZ by changing the SZ partition type to a standard FAT32 partition. Once that's done, you can copy out the TIB files. Since it's a FAT32 partition, the maximum filesize is 4GB. This means that large files must be split and probably is why you have a lot more than the two files you were expecting.

    Do you have a list of the files and their sizes? Usually, you can tell by the dates and sizes which splits belong to the Full image and which belong to the Incremental.
     
  4. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    The best method for recovering your first full backup is to select it and recover it to a spare hard drive. Booted from the rescue Cd this is an easy procedure.
    It would then be possible to create a new original image in a form for DVD storage.

    Images in a secure zone are stored using the FAT 32 file system, because of this a detailed examination will show that an image is split into 4GB chunks.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=228806 Shows one way to un-hide a secure zone (post No. 5)
    Once unhidden the original backup image set can be copied to DVDs. It is already split as stated above into 4 GB parts so the job ia half done for you already.

    I am interested how you found the images in the zone were made up of "lots" of files. Usually the file splitting is not visible to a user using the normal Acronis Wizards.

    If you have further questions it would be helpfull if you stated which Version and build of TI you are using. I have not entered the murky world of Version 2009 yet.

    Xpilot
     
  5. toyo

    toyo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Thank you all again for your help. I'll try to answer your questions, and give info on what I have found myself.

    Although I have read the wikipedia stuff on ATI, didn't make the connection between the 4 gb limitation and FAT32, sorry.
    What I did was: I did a backup of ASZ on the harddrive, ATI gives a message that this is not useful, I continued anyway. I tried mounting the resulting image, not possible. It is possible though to explore it in Explorer - it seem to create a ramdisk (double-clicking it in Total Commander will just open ATI). I have expected, as I said before, 2 tib files (as I did 2 backups) but found:
    - one folder F11 (I guess it contains the info necesarry for booting with F11 key)
    - one file F11.sys
    - one 0 byte file named: 7E2F0537_E793_4461_B7B6_73A47574E9C1
    - 7 tib files named: AAA1.tib to AAA7.tib. first 4 tibs were from my initial backup, last 3 were from the incremental. Is it normal for a incremental tib to have almost same size as initial bkp? (12,8 gb initial full bkp - 12,2 GB incremental)
    The tib files can be dragged to another folder from the ramdisk, I managed to validate only the first archive (1-4 tibs), what I have wanted.
    I didn't have to make visible the partition and never used other software.

    The ATI version (from the tooltip of install file) is 12.0.0.9709. I hope I have answered your questions, please shoot if you have more.
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    toyo,

    Honestly, the entire picture is unclear, because the archive names should be different.

    Please download Acronis Report utility available here and run it, create a report and attach the file to your post.

    This would provide us with detailed information on the hard disk partition structure.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.