How to open firefox 3.5 bookmarks open in same tab

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by raakii, Aug 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. raakii

    raakii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    The latest version of firefox opens bookmarks in different tabs.How to change it to open on same tab by default?
     
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,958
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  3. raakii

    raakii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    Thanks.:thumb:
     
  4. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,958
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    raakii, you're welcome! Take care.
     
  5. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Never had an issue with that. Left click opens in the same tab, middle click new tab. On a funny note, the Pauli exclusion principle specifically states that two fermions of the same spin number cannot simultaneously occupy the same energy state. Therefore, opening a -1/2 spin tab inside an energy well occupied by another -1/2 spin tab is physically impossible.
    Mrk
     
  6. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    :D Seagrams or 100 Pipers ??

    (What I like about Opera, I have it so everything opens in a new tab. Also sessions are better. For instance if I want to follow stock prices, I create a session for say 20 stocks that I want to monitor by first opening each stock in
    a seperate tab and then simply saving the session with a suitable name. To
    open the session .. File>Sessions>Stocks will open the 20 tabs in new window.
    Or File>Session>Manage Sessions>Stocks and tick 'open in same window' will
    open all the tabs in the same window. I am not all that familiar with Firefox, so
    can Tab Mix achieve this ?)
     
  7. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
  8. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Just looking at the image gallery it seems rather convoluted. Lot's of fuss
    compared to the ultra simple Opera way. Also I don't want to save current state.
    For instance with stock prices I want to open the tabs saved and get the latest
    prices, not those saved a month ago. Can I perhaps just do a Ctrl+F5 to refresh
    them with Session Manager ?
     
  9. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    AFAIK, it doesn't work with the cache that way. It will open the url's normally. Go ahead and try it, it's very stable.
     
  10. 1boss1

    1boss1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Posts:
    401
    Location:
    Australia
    Make a folder in your bookmarks, save all 20 stock pages in that folder. Then right click that bookmark folder and "Open all in Tabs". Is that what you are trying to do?
     
  11. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Yes, that is satisfactory.
    Regards
     
  12. rolarocka

    rolarocka Guest

    You can also middle click on a folder to open all bookmarks in new tabs.
     
  13. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Forgot about that, thanks rolarocka.
     
  14. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    If you're using that, you might consider the Old Add Bookmark Behavior extension.
    The reason is that Firefox, since version 'what's his face', will delete a previous bookmark if it's the same url as the one you're bookmarking.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.