How to mount backup volume in HDM 15?

Discussion in 'Paragon Partition Manager Product Line' started by Anakunda, Nov 20, 2014.

  1. Anakunda

    Anakunda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Posts:
    94
    hi, have problem to mount a single volume from vbackup image in Hdm15:
    in 14 serie this worked, locate in Archives view the single volume image (.PBF directly), add it to HDM database, then right click on the volume in database view and choose mount as virtual drive.
    Hdm15: all volumes are backup to single container. I can't add an individual volume to datbase thus can't use the mount volume. Extracting from backup also doesn't work (due to EFS encryption)
    1. Why still HDM doesn't handle EFS decrypt on extract from image?
    2. How can I mount a volume from Paagon VD file?
     
  2. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,283
    The procedure to mount a VD container in HDM 15 is similar to that on HDM 14. Full Scale Launcher > Archives > Locate the VD and Add it to the data base > select Show VD Containers and Show partitions > the partitions that are in the VD appear in the list > select one > clic on the icon Mount Archive.

    The above applies to normal VD containers, not encrypted. I don´t know what EFS encryption is.
     
  3. Anakunda

    Anakunda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Posts:
    94
    Show partitions...completely missed that dropdown.
    Works sweet now Thank Uuu!
    One more problem however which is minor: Unattended backups now seem to not add automatically made backups into HDM database (must add them manually). Can I tweak the script to do this as it was in HDM14?
     
  4. Slice

    Slice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Wow this is so convoluted ! I would never have found that out. Tried all sorts. Why hide such a useful (and well advertised!) part of the product this way ??
    Surely I should be able to click on an archive, right click, "mount" appears and if it has multiple parttons (or whatever the difficulty is) it just says chose which partition to mount ?.

    Sorry but Wow I'm in shock how a simple and fundamental feature as advertised is completely hidden like that. Struggled to find it in the manual too.
     
  5. Anakunda

    Anakunda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Posts:
    94
    I don't know what happened but I'm unable to mount any of the previously backup partitions. The error that appears reports "Operation failed" / Unsupported format. Error source: Universal Image Mounter / Error code: 0xe000002d
    It's of course nonsens, the partition is NTFS so the format must be supported. Ideas please?

    It seems that the problem is exactly same as posted here (not answered)

    (Edit) Can anyone from Paragon confirm that PVHD containers placed into backup capsule aren't mountable? After more trying the error above seems to apply only to containers from capsule while containers placed onto standard NTFS partition are mountable fine. If this proves correct then I'd appreciate a guide how to migrate containers from backup capsule to standard partition (or better to convert capsule to std. partition) - the mounting problem is a big limitation.
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2014
  6. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,283
    From the Hard Disk Manager manual:

    Before you start mounting backup images, please study the following limitations:
     Archives can be mounted at the partition-level only, thus please use the ‘Show partitions’ option to view all
    partitions inside backup images;
     Archives will only be mounted for the current session and won’t be available after the system restart;
     Archives containing Windows Storage Spaces are not supported;
     Archives containing ReFS partitions are not supported;
     pVHD archives located on physical (unmounted) partitions or in the backup capsule cannot be mounted;
     pVHD LVM/LDM archives are not supported.
     
  7. Anakunda

    Anakunda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Posts:
    94
    That's it. Degrading backup capsule convenience significantly. Could support be implemented in any of future versions?
     
Loading...