How to make my CPU faster?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by nadirah, Dec 31, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    How do i set my CPU's speed? How do i make it faster?
    My current speed is 400MHz. My CPU's maximum speed is 550MHz. I'm using a pentium 2 CPU.
     
  2. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,878
    Location:
    New England
    I'm not sure we've ever discussed overclocking here, and while we may have some people that know about it, you'd probably be better off asking about this in a forum that specializes in that type of thing. There will be a lot more people and experiences to help you there.

    Take a look at this forum: DSLR - Overclocking & Modding Forum

    Here is the DSLR - Overclocking FAQ as a starting place.
     
  3. spydespiser

    spydespiser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    162
    Location:
    Gtr M/C UK
    Hi Nadirah,

    Good luck with your tweaks,hope it all goes well

    although my knowledge on such things is very limited i would offer just one small piece of advice
    read as much as u can on subject,and remember that all such tweaking is done entirely at your own risk and anyone offering you advice/info regarding such should remind u of this
    there also other issues involved such as cooling, ventilation etc.

    One golden rule:If u have any doubts,dont do it(desired results are not guaranteed)

    To Paul n Admin,sorry for posting a non security reply at wilders but i thought it would be impolite not to warn him

    SpyD :cool:

    P.s
    [move]ALL THE BEST FOR 2004 EVERYONE AT WILDERS[/move]
     
  4. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    spydespiser,

    No problem ;) - and best wishes to you as well.

    regards.

    paul
     
  5. Q Section

    Q Section Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    771
    Location:
    Headquarters - London & Field Offices -Worldwide
    Hello nadirah
    We found that this computer has settings via jumpers on the motherboard to correspond to the CPU speed. Just for curiosity we checked and found that actually the jumpers were set wrongly. We set them correctly and voilà - now the computer runs just a little bit faster.

    One word of caution - we do not believe in overclocking because of the probable damage to system components and the failure of the CPU at an early age! Please do not do anything which may cause you to ruin a perfectly good computer, OK? Right.

    Best wishes.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.