How to log alarms?

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by Elliot, Nov 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Elliot

    Elliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Posts:
    41
    How to config TDS to have it log the alarms found during scan into log file? Now I could only read something like '5 alarms in 270.7813 seconds' in log file, and didn't know what those 5 alarms were.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Elliot, TDS3 creates a monthly log file, Go to your TDS3 folder and look in the Logs subfolder there you will find a daily file. The log is a standard .txt formated file and records every action that is shown in the TDS console window.

    HTH Pilli
     
  3. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi again,
    in addition to the logs from the TDS console Pilli describes, there is also the possibility to save the scan alerts from the bottom console by rightclicking one of the alarms and choose save to text, which will save it to the scandump.txt which you will see in the TDS directory.
    Mind you, each new saved scan will overwrite the former one so it will never become a large file; if you for some reason want to keep it save a copy with another name in your TDS directory.
     
  4. Elliot

    Elliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Posts:
    41
    Thank you Pilli. What I wanted is to let TDS-3 automatically record the alarts it found during a scan into the log file. Now TDS-3 only record the message on console into log file, but the alarts are not displayed in console, it's in the dedicated frame located at the bottom of TDS's window.
     
  5. Elliot

    Elliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Posts:
    41
    Thank you Jooske.
    Can't TDS record them automatically? Sometimes I let TDS run the whole night, however, the system was shutdown accidentally due to power failure. On this occasion, how could I know what alarts TDS had found during last scan?
     
  6. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    I feel with you, it happened here several times and had to start all over again. Guess it's on the wishlist for the next TDS generation......
     
  7. Elliot

    Elliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Posts:
    41
    Well, no one's perfect. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.