How to install the Nvidia proprietary driver in CentOS

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Mrkvonic, Oct 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,703
    Greetings!

    Something handy for everyone, from your grandpa to your clueless friend. Well, not really, but still a jolly good geek read. A tutorial explaining how to install the Nvidia properietary driver in CentOS 6, including manual download, installation of build tools (kernel sources, headers, gcc, make), blacklisting Nouveau driver, switching runlevels, installation from command line, testing, and more.

    http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/centos-nvidia.html


    Cheers,
    Mrk
     
  2. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Thank for the article. Mrk.

    ATrpms offers support for the NVidia video devices too.
    There is something funny with that, though, it has all the modules for the current kernel, but still insists on installing a different (bit outdated) kernel. You need to search for the correct kernel module ( yum search nvidia-graphics280 | grep $(uname -r) ) and install it explicitly.
     
  3. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Thank you Mrk,

    I don't think epel has the drivers, are you sure you didn't get them from atrpms ?
    in Scientific installing the drivers from atrpms, which I initially did, gave me troubles .. after kernel update
    From Xorg log:-
    All due to nouveau, despite having added rdblacklist=nouveau to the kernel line.
    I was advised by Scientific forum to rather install from elrepo. This solved all my problems, even after kernel updates. The blacklist-nouveau.conf file entry took care of itself - nothing for me to do.
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2011
  4. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
  5. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,703
    No reason ... :) There is no simple answers.
    All of your questions and suggestions could go into a sequel.
    Mrk
     
  6. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    I've amended my post #3 showing that the problem occurred after my very first kernel update.
    So as far as I am concerned stay away from atrpms for nvidia drivers.
     
  7. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677

    Attached Files:

  8. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    which kernel version you got ocky may i ask :rolleyes:
     
  9. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    "# yum install nvidia-graphics":

    Here you see how ATrpms suggests to install the outdated kernel *-71.7.1.el6 while the system is running kernel *71.29.1.el6. and a search for the module for the current kernel shows it as available:

    Screenshot-root@e5200:~-1.png

    So, before installing nvidia-graphics, I installed the correct kernel module and then ATrpms continues with installing NVidia drivers for the current kernel and ignores the outdated kernel.

    Screenshot-root@e5200:~-2.png
     
  10. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Well, I am still on the older 270.14.19-1 because the 275.21-1 gave me some problems with the panel. The 280.13-138 is so far only available from elrepo testing. As soon as it is in stable I will try it. I prefer to stick with elrepo rather than atrpms for now.
     
  11. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    is your panel look like this

    if so my solution is

    system>preference>desktop effect now click on select compiz effect

    then you see what i am posting right now

    but after you click on compiz icon (install compiz icon)

    everything work ok

    just make sure you have your compiz also set it from compiz icon instead of metacity it work like charm and do it in order
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 6, 2011
  12. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    i mean i you open compiz icon 1st and them desktop effect setting you didnt get it work right

    i guess problem is with gtk or somthing but this silly way work for me no problems so far
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,703
    280 works for me without any issues ...
    Mrk
     
  14. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Yes, thank you mack_guy, it looks like the same problem. It doesn't happen at all with my current drivers. Strange. Do you need to do that every morning after booting SL6.1 :argh:

    Messed up Panel.jpg

    Mrk. has no problems with the 280xx drivers, so maybe it will be sorted out once I install those.
     
  15. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Mack, what have you done to get the window manager icon in the panel, how is that application called? (settings manager seems generic)
     
  16. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    yes i have to click on compiz icon only every time

    too much work :D


    To be honest i dont use compiz at all only when playfull mood
     
  17. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677

    its compiz fusion icon sorry is look diffrent because of the theme

    just install compiz icon and when click on it you get it there and on right click you can set everything from it.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Ah, thank you,

    So, when Ocky adds /usr/bin/fusion-icon to the startup applications (system / preferences) then it starts automatically, no extra clicking required.

    Seems to work that way on my system.

    Hm?
     
  19. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,703
    I have two buttons. Fusion icon and emerald icon for switching themes. Either works well, but in the background, they are doing compiz --replace and such. It's convenient for tweaking this thing on and off when you need and choosing the right window manager and decorations.
    Mrk
     
  20. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    The icon resides in the panel. Whether compiz starts automatically is governed by the entry
    placed in the settings manager under Window Decoration. If you add the icon to the panel it will allow easy selection. :)

    settings manager.png

    I don't use emerald in SL6.1

    Compiz icon.png
     
  21. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    New one out. Stable 285.05.09-1 (from elrepo)

    No problems with panels. :)


    Nvidia 285.05.09-1.jpg
     
  22. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    strange my kernel is

    2.6.32-131.17.1.el6.x86_64

    and nvidia

    kmod 275.21-1

    but after updating it to kmod 285.05.09-1

    and reboot

    it give me blank screen with flickering cursor LOOL
     
  23. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    :D Sorry mack_guy not a laughing matter, but it looks like I am the lucky one this time, also
    with same kernel as yours.
    BTW.I didn't uninstall the nouveau driver. It is only blacklisted.
     
  24. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
  25. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.