How to install and run NOD32 on Vista RC1 5600

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 v3 Beta Forum' started by geircito, Sep 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. geircito

    geircito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Posts:
    27
    1.Disable Windows Defender (not neccessary, but why use it?)
    Press WinKey+R and type services.msc (ENTER).
    Doubleclick "Windows Defender" under "Startup type:" choose "Disabled" - press "OK"; close "Services".

    Press WinKey+R and type regedit (ENTER) - find the key
    "\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run"
    mark "Windows Defender" in the right pane and delete it!!

    2.Disable Windows Firewall
    Open "Control Panel" - doubleclick "Windows Firewall"
    click "Turn Windows Firewall on or off" (right pane)
    choose "Off (not recommended)" - press "OK".
    Close "Windows Firewall" - close "Control Panel".

    Disable your internet connection!!!!!!!

    Restart Vista (to get rid of Windows Defender).

    3.Install NOD32 2.51.30 manually
    Doubleclick the installer file "nentenst.exe".
    Extract the files to the default folder ("C:\Program Files\ESET\Install").

    Follow the installation wizard with THESE adjustments:
    - IMPORTANT: choose "Expert (Fully customized installation"
    - choose "I agree"
    - choose default installation folder "C:\Program Files\Eset\"
    - choose default internet connection
    - choose "Register tasks for automatic updates"
    - it's your choice of enabling "Silent mode" / "Protect config.."
    - it's your choice of enabling "..graphical user interface" / "..splash screen.."
    - it's your choice of enabling "..warnings by email" / "..warnings via Win Messenger.."
    - disable (unmark) "Enable ThreatSence.Net Early Warning System" (never used it)
    - NOW THE IMPORTANT: disable (unmark) AMON: "I want to start the file system monitor.."
    if you don't disable this option the installation will hang at the first boot
    - it's your choice of enabling "..icon on desktop" / "Enable context menu integration"
    - it's your choice of enabling DMON (I do)
    - enable "Register Internet monitor (IMON) to the system"
    - enable "Enable IMON email checking" / "All email"
    - enable "HTTP checking" - choose your own action
    - it's your choice of enabling EMON (I don't because I don't have Outlook installed)

    IMPORTANT: DO NOT restart - choose "Restart later".

    4.Manual starting the NOD32 Kernel Service.
    Press WinKey+R and type services.msc (ENTER) - doubleclick "NOD32 Kernel Service"
    under "Startup type:" choose "Manual" - press "OK"; close "Services".

    5.Remove "nod32kui" from the run-command in the registry.
    Press WinKey+R and type regedit (ENTER) - find the key
    "\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run"
    mark "nod32kui" in the right pane and delete it!!

    6.Now open your NOD32 installation folder ("C:\Program Files\Eset").
    Rightclick and choose "New -> Text Document".
    Rename the newly created file as StartNOD32.cmd (without the .txt extension).
    Rightclick this command script file StartNOD32.cmd and choose "Edit".

    Write this and save the file:
    @echo off
    net start amon
    net start nod32krn
    start nod32kui.exe
    exit

    Rightclick the command script file StartNOD32.cmd and choose "Create shortcut".
    Rename the shortcut to StartupNOD32.
    Keep the installation folder open.

    Now you need to enable "Show hidden files" in explorer.
    Just press the ALT-key, and the old menu will popup.
    Open meny "Tools -> Folder Options...".
    Open "View"-tab; under "Advanced settings:" check "Show hidden files and folders" - press "OK".

    Open the folder
    "C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup"
    Move the shortcut you created (StartNOD32) to this Startup-folder.
    Rightclick StartNOD32 (in the Startup-folder) and choose "Properties"
    under "Run:" choose "Minimized".

    Close all open explorer windows.

    ENABLE your internet connection!!!!!!!

    RESTART your PC!!!

    After a complete restart you'll see the green NOD32 icon in the notification bar.
    (You can see that StartNOD32 is executing in the taskbar)

    Now doubleclick the NOD32-icon in the notification area.
    If you have installed the testversion update
    to the full version using your username and password.
    Then make an update of the virus signatures.

    FINISHED - UP AND RUNNING.

    ---
     
  2. Kryspy

    Kryspy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Works like a charm, thanks.

    Have min e working here for over 24 hours even wiyh AMON enabled and no BSOD.

    Kryspy
     
  3. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    and shoe-horning software not certified for a test OS is a VERY good idea - NOT!
     
  4. Kryspy

    Kryspy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    webyourbusiness,

    And it works just fine. What is wrong with findng a work around? Are you trying to say that it is not protecting the user? Vista isn't that much different that XP.

    Sticking your 2 cents into a thread designated for those wishing to try nod32 on Vista and simply being a nay sayer is really cool too - not !!!.

    Kryspy
     
  5. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    OK, enough of the jousting please; back to the topic at hand.

    Thanks.

    Blackspear.
     
  6. The Nodder

    The Nodder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    UK
    I tried the workaround and it's not working for me, well, it did install, but it won't work with amon enabled, and also with amon enabled I get a BSOD. I should say that I do goet the same BSOD with other programs - I have given MS the details -, it is,

    BAD_POOL_CALL

    0x000000c2 (0x00000007, 0x0000113d, 0x883c43, 0x8806086:cool:

    I'll see what they come up with.
     
  7. eagle117

    eagle117 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    The Nodder:

    As mentioned in the post, you should not enable AMON module. you should write a .cmd batch file that will execute AMON. please read the original post.

    I have downloaded Bifrost Trojan to check AMON, IMON and NOD32 modules and I can confirm that those modules work fine, as well as the update. It is a very good tutorial, thanks geircito.

    1 thing I should add.
    When doing the proccess mentioned in the tutorial, you should also disable User Account Control (UAC). If not disabled, you might get an "access denied" error while running the batch script.
     
  8. Kryspy

    Kryspy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Tried this workaround with the new build 5728...

    No go for nod32 as the compatability warning pops up when you try to run the control center.

    Oh well.

    Kryspy
     
  9. The Nodder

    The Nodder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    UK
    I tried it with and without Amon.
     
  10. geircito

    geircito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Posts:
    27
    @Krisby

    That's correct. The on-demand scanner nod32.exe doesn't work at all in build 5728, but the AMON, IMON, DMON, EMON does as described in my first post.
     
  11. The Nodder

    The Nodder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    UK
    I just had another try at getting NOD32 to work,following the instructions very carefully I got NOD32 V2 installed, but in Step 4 the control Centre wouldn’t run, the error was something about the kernal not working with the CC so I re-enabled that and it worked.

    There is no “Run:” option to "minimised" in my set up so this may have a bearing on my problem :=
    ----
    Open the folder
    "C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup"
    Move the shortcut you created (StartNOD32) to this Startup-folder.
    Rightclick StartNOD32 (in the Startup-folder) and choose "Properties"
    under "Run:" choose "Minimized".
    ----
    I let NOD update, now the Scanning part of the program won’t work it won'’t run, the "incompatability " issue again.

    The sys. tray CC is green as it should be and all parts of it are selected and AFAIK are working.

    So do I now leave it that way or uninstall & re-install AVG, I think I'’ll leave NOD installed.

    I just went into XP where I have NOD32 installed, so as I have a dual boot thingie going with Vista and as the control Centre is seemingly working in Vista I had the bright idea of scanning vista from XP with the NOD32 scanner, as I type this that is what is happening right now.

    All I had to do was select D:\ (my vista partition) & off it went.
     
  12. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Is this actually necessary, or just your preference?

    Cheers :)
     
  13. geircito

    geircito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Posts:
    27
    It's just my preference..
     
  14. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Always good to have this ticked, as then Eset receive anything suspicious/new that your system finds, they can then analyse the sample and if found to be genuine, write a signature, or adjust the heuristics engine. Thus you end up with even better protection.

    Cheers :D
     
  15. scopus

    scopus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    I can't even get the installer to load. I have disabled UAC, Windows Defender and reluctantly Windows Firewall. :oops:

    I double click on the installer file and then click Extract. During this process an error message comes up saying... :ouch:

    "Program Compatibility Assistant.... This program is blocked due to compatibility issues... Check online to see if solutions are available from the Microsoft website..." [There aren't] :thumbd:

    "...NOD32 Standard Edition or Antivirus System is incompatible with this version of Windows. For more information, contact Eset." [I did, but still no reply after 48 hours even though they say I'd hear from someone within 24 hours.]" :eek:

    The only options are "Check for solutions online" or "Cancel". When clicking "Check for solutions online" a dialogue appears saying..."Windows is checking for a solution to the problem." and soon another dialogue appears saying "No solutions found for NOD32... contact ESET."

    HOW DO I PREVENT THE - "Program Compatibility Assistant" - FROM BLOCKING THE NOD32 INSTALLER? o_O o_O

    Anybody? I wonder if ESET has a temporary solution YET until their Vista Version? :D I refuse to use any other Antivirus program. I would sooner get a virus then install Trend Micro, McAfee, Norton, AVG, Avast or any other. :thumbd:

    If there is no solution to this, I guess I will just enable the firewall and defender and hold on for the ride until a NOD32 Vista Release. :(
     
  16. scopus

    scopus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    I even tried disabling the "Program Compatibility Assistant" (PCA) service. Still it blocks the program from loading the installer.

    The service description states that it "Provides support for the Program Compatibility Assistant. If this service is stopped, the Program Compatibility Assistant will not function properly. If this service is disabled, any services that depend on it will fail to start."

    Nothing changed after disabling it completely. The error still came up. :oops:
     
  17. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    After disabling it, did you also stop the service, or reboot?

    Cheers :)
     
  18. scopus

    scopus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    I first disabled it, then stopped it, then rebooted. Fun aye. :mad: I miss my NOD.
     
  19. scopus

    scopus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    Did I mention that I miss my NOD? o_O
     
  20. The Nodder

    The Nodder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    UK
    Did you try a right click on the install file, click on Compatibility tab ans select "Run this program in Compatibiliyy mode for " then select SP2, may or may not work.

    Can you do what I had to do, Install the first V2 of NOD32, not the updates since V2 was released. Its 7.6 mb. If you or anyone else wants it I could put it in my Webspace so you can then download it. I got it from the ESET web site when it was first released, you will have to use your username & password of course.

    I don't think Eset will object to that.
     
  21. scopus

    scopus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    Yesh, I had already tried Compatibility Mode but thanks for the idea.

    Um, I could try the previous version if you don't mind giving a link.

    Thanks in advance. :D
     
  22. The Nodder

    The Nodder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    UK
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2006
  23. Kryspy

    Kryspy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yup,

    Old version works like a charm. Make sure you turn off the program upgrade part or you'll be back at square one with compatability.

    Kryspy
     
  24. scopus

    scopus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    Yes indeed cause you know I found out the hard way. Don't upgrade the program and make sure you leave UAC turned off!
     
  25. scopus

    scopus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    Date for Official NOD32 Vista Realase??

    Okay well that was NOT FUN AT ALL. Three systems not happy. Although it is probably considered a quickfix, it is extremely temporary!! What is the date for the Official NOD32 Vista Release??

    There is a Display Name "Nodder" in the Microsoft TechNet forum, I'm assuming that is the same person above "The Nodder". Anyway, in the TechNet forum it was said that "NOD32 should be released in a couple of weeks that is fixed to work in Vista, that is posted in the ESET forum." Where was this posted?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.