how to get rid of an unwanted partition

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by rbig, Apr 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rbig

    rbig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Posts:
    96
    I think I somehow diddled around and inadvertently created an unwanted partition in my primary pc hard drive.

    I say this because an E drive that hasn't been there before suddenly showed up.

    I'm running WinME, Acronis TI 8.0, and an external USB drive that I do my backups on.

    Anyway, assuming I managed to hamburger an unwantedh partition on my primary hd that I don't want, how can I make it go away?
     
  2. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Your info is a little vague. Would you consider showing us a screen capture of your "My Computer" using the "details" viewing option. sample below.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Partition Magic can merge that extra partition into the main one. Not sure if Acronis Disk Director can.
     
  4. rbig

    rbig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Posts:
    96
    I see I told you wrong. It's drive D that I think has become a partition of my primary hard drive. I don't know how to post a screen capture shot. Be glad to do that--just need to know how.
     
  5. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    I interpreted your first posting as you were uncertain as to your actions. That's why I wanted to see more. Check my signature below for info on attachments.
     
  6. rbig

    rbig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Posts:
    96
    I give up. Don't think I'll be able to post that screen shot of "My Computer".

    I'm working on my wife's old WinME wheezer pc. The only graphics image processor I have is the old Windows Paint. Bad quality pics on save, and way too big for post file size (.bmp extenders).

    I'll find a partition manager program and use it to get this hard drive squared away.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  7. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    rbig,
    Yes, in order to remove, you will need a program.

    Should you want to spend a little more time on being able to display an image of MyComputer, this link will show you how to use Paint to get a satisfactory capture.
    text file=capture-paint.txt
     

    Attached Files:

  8. dbknox

    dbknox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    511
    Location:
    Canada
    GroverH I don't know if rbig is going to look back here, but I had like to thank you for that "paint text" I have programs to easily accomplish what you did using paint, but a lot of my friends don't and I will be passing that info on to them. What a good lesson for paint, I may just find myself using it more. I didn't know that I could write the ".jpg" extension and it would save it as jpg, thanks again.
    rbig I apoligize for butting in on your thread. Don't give up I am sure, as you can see from GroverH instructions, that he knows a lot and there are a lot of other very knowlegable people on this forum.
     
  9. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Thanks DBKnox for making my time spent worthwhile. It's not as neat as my normal captures but it works when you have nothing else.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.