How to get netflix on a TV?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by mattdocs12345, Mar 1, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    So I got a big old TV and a netbook. The netbook is Thinkpad x100e 1.5Ghz core solo, 3GB RAM, AMD integrated graphics. Will it be enough to power big screen vacuum based old fashioned TV? Or will I need to buy Roku?
     
  2. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,188
    Location:
    USA
    Should be plenty. How do you plan on hooking it up?
     
  3. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
  4. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,188
    Location:
    USA
  5. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    Your laptop does not have to power the TV, it will just output a video signal and since your TV is the older variety, so I am assuming it is just regular 480p. Your laptop should not have any problems with it.

    The real issue is whether you laptop has an HDMI output?

    The bigger issue is that your older TV will not have an HDMI input, so you will need to hook it up through RCA or composite cables depending on what your TV supports.

    Therefore, it is my opinion that you should get a Roku, an older version that output on RCA. The latest Roku is HDMI only. The netbook would have worked if you had an HDMI input on your TV.

    Also, I hope that you know that with your setup, you will not be able to view HD content. You will be limited to 480p only, so if Netflix offers different packages, just get a SD only package. I do not know whether Netflix does this, I read a news article about it that they were planning to sell SD only packages in the near future.
     
  6. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    Will check it out.
     
  7. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,024
    Location:
    USA
  8. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,010
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    This has also been one of my problems. I always wondered why Netflix couldn't just make a deal with internet providers.

    In Holland we now have a nice alternative to Netflix, it's called Videoland Unlimited, and it's already offered by some providers as an extra paid service.

    Cool thing is, it works via the setop box, so it's delivered via IPTV (VDSL/Fiber) or DVB-C (cable). So you don't need the internet. :)
     
  9. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    Okay my TV has the following outlets:
    AVI IN:
    Yellow outlet VIDEO
    White outlet
    Red outlet AUDIO

    On the back there are 6 more outlets
    - 2x Yellow
    - 2x White
    - 2x Red

    And then there is one big cable outlet.
    There is no HDMI Port or anything that looks like it can be even remotely connected to a computer.

    So the $64,000 question. Will Roku work with ito_O

    BTW, while Im comfortable with computers, I don't know anything about TVs.
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2014
  10. DoctorPC

    DoctorPC Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Posts:
    813
    ROKU has HMDI out, as well as 1/8" AV out to RCA connectors. So yes, it will work.

    I picked up a couple Roku's for half off over Cyber Monday ($25 each). A real bargain, especially since we can do both Amazon+Netflix. Although a Smart-TV renders Roku obsolete, it's great for older TV's/Devices.
     
  11. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    Cool. Now I see two types of devices. Roku 1 Streaming Player and Roku HD Streaming Player. Is there any difference between these two?
     
  12. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2014
  13. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
  14. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
  15. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
  16. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,150
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    That's the same model as I have; a good deal.
    I was sufficiently impressed with it that I bought two more. One for bedroom, one for girl friend. She even shares my Netfix subscription (legally done per Netfix EULA).
     
  17. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    Good. I was worried that it would be some kind of HD TV only model.
     
  18. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,150
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    You should be fine. (Also, as a bonus w/ Roku, you'll have for free dozens of channels, many hundreds of movies / programs.)
    You can also connect audio output to your HiFi for stereo sound quality when desired (it's nice with Pandora).
     
  19. Masterblaster

    Masterblaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    260
    Location:
    USA
    I think you can use the cheaper Chromecast and use an inexpensive HDMI to RCA converter http://www.bestbuy.com/site/eforcit...to rca converter&cp=1&lp=13#tab=buyingOptions

    I have Chromecast on 3 of my TV's. I can switch easily between them using my Android phone. Using my phone is a big advantage compared to another propitiatory remote. Both my wife and daughter can control the TV's from their phones as well. Chromecast is amazing and inexpensive.
     
  20. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    ^ The OP's television has composite video (yellow RCA) not component video (red/green/blue RCA).
     
  21. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,150
    Location:
    Mass., USA
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.