How to delete individual archives?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by SmallStep, Jul 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SmallStep

    SmallStep Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Posts:
    23
    In TI 11, when I go to Manage Backup Locations and Archives > Explore Backup Location, I see a list of all of the backups that have been created.

    Under the heading "Backup Archives" is the statement "View, restore or delete selected archives."

    If I click on an individual "archive" the task pane has links to "Show backup content" (i.e., view), "Restore backup archive" (i.e., restore), and "Validate backup archive." There seems to be no way to delete a selected archive.

    Am I missing something? If, with TI closed, I manually delete a file from my Backup Location will I confuse TI or will it simply read the contents of the Backup Location next time and act accordingly?
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Just a wild guess since I don't delete my backups that way, try r-clicking on the archive and see if you get the Delete feature.
     
  3. SmallStep

    SmallStep Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Posts:
    23
    Nope, just get "Arrange icons by...", "Choose columns", and "Refresh."

    If you don't delete your backups "that way", how do you delete them?

    I only ask because I had, in the same Archive Location, some good full disk backups and some questionable diff file backups. I wanted to delete all of the file backups and start over without losing the disk images.
     
  4. fungus

    fungus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Posts:
    69
    "I wanted to delete all of the file backups and start over without losing the disk images." o_O

    I'm confused.
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I think some of the backups are image (My Computer) type backups and some are files & folders (My Data) type backups. Both were saved into the same Backup Location.
     
  6. SmallStep

    SmallStep Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Posts:
    23
    Yes, exactly. :)

    Eventually, the Backup Location will clean itself out as old files are deleted based on my rule limiting the size of the Backup Location. I was just asking if I could speed up that process by manually deleting the "My Data" type backups manually without deleting the entire Backup Location.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    SmallStep,

    You are able to delete the archives manually without deleting the entire Backup Location, this will not influence the program functionality.

    I would recommend you to create a new Backup Location to place your data archives to, i.e. one Backup Location should correspond to one backup task.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  8. SmallStep

    SmallStep Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Posts:
    23
    Thanks. That's exactly what I did.
     
  9. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    I use Windows Explorer and delete them just like any other file.
     
  10. itobor

    itobor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I had exactly the same issue and found out the answer the hard way:

    Do NOT go into Management Tools->Manage Backup Locations and Archives.

    Instead go into "Explore Archive" under Operations buttonin top row. Then when you select the archive you want to delete you will see a red "X" above the window to click on.
     
  11. SmallStep

    SmallStep Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Posts:
    23
    Thanks. :)

    I suspect that doing it as you describe is the same as using Windows Explorer ... but one never knows what internal database might be getting updated behind the scenes. If I have to deal with this issue again, I'll be more comfortable operating through the Acronis UI than doing an end run with Windows Explorer.

    I wonder if the UI has been fixed (or made more logical) in TI 2009.
     
  12. ozstar

    ozstar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    I'll jump in here as maybe I have the same or a similar problem.

    I have set my task to be a full drive back up every night. I wish to keep 3 nights worth so have been changing the name every morning of each tib file to add the date then copying it to another drive as an added backup.

    I now have 18 days of full tibs and am trying to delete the older ones in XP Explorer as I have done before, but get a panel that the files is in use. As far as I can see TI is not in use and I assume that would be the only thing happening to do with the file.

    How can I turn TI fully off, if it is TI that is stopping me deleteing these files or is their another answer.

    Many thanks and good luck with your own problems.

    oz
     
  13. Mike Dallwitz

    Mike Dallwitz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    The 'in use' message is sometimes spurious - it might be that you don't have the right permissions. Try logging in as Administrator in Safe Mode, and changing the permissions if necessary.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.