How to deactivate Startup Recovery Manager

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by JayDay, Aug 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JayDay

    JayDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    I have actiavte the Startup Recovery Manager but it doesn't work (machine hangs). I now use a Boot Disk so don't need Startup Recovery Manager.

    How do I deactivate it? o_O
     
  2. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, JayDay

    Please read this link:- #2

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  3. JayDay

    JayDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    Hi

    The only options I can see are to Increase or Decrease the size of the Security Zone.
     
  4. JayDay

    JayDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    ACRONIS SUPPORT

    Any ideas??
     
  5. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, JayDay

    Sorry about as I said in the link I do not use it. [I tried but forgot how it worked]

    I do all my Imaging from the Bootdisk. [less chance of conflict]

    So I installed it to do some tests.

    There is only two ways to stop it.
    The first is to remove the Sercure Zone which will stop the SRM. [Not an option if you have Image in it.

    The Second is to FIX your MBR. [see below if you do not know how]

    Boot from your OS CD>When you get to the insall screen choose>Rapair Windows XP [2000] useing the Recovery Console>

    Press R>

    Then Type> 1>

    Then Enter your Password the one that you installed with. [Administer]

    Then at Windows [Dos Prompt] Type>

    FIXMBR>then when it ask if you are sure>Type Y>

    Press Enter> [you will get a warning about the MBR]

    TYPE Y>it will then say it alterd the MRB>

    Type Exit. [you must Type EXIT]


    This will get rid of the SRM but you will still have your SZ.

    Hope you find this is of some help
    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  6. JayDay

    JayDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks for your help. Sorted now.
     
  7. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, JaydDay

    Glad I could be of some help.
    Good to see you have it fixed now.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.