How to create a backup task at Vista shutdown?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by peterpeter, Feb 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. peterpeter

    peterpeter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    As I understand, TI11 doesn't give the option to automatic backup at Vista shutdown.
    Who can guide me to create a backup task at Vista shutdown using alternative methods?

    Is is planned to add this missing option?

    Thanks in advance
    peterpeter
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2008
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
  3. peterpeter

    peterpeter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Does someone has a solution for this without using a script?
    AND:
    Does someone know, if it is planned to add this missing option in TI?

    peterpeter
     
  4. tuttle

    tuttle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Posts:
    376
    Use Vista's Task Scheduler to create a scheduled task that runs a previously-created ATI backup task. Then to that same Task Scheduler task add another action to run the shutdown routine.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello peterpeter,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Windows Vista's Winlogon service is totally different from the one of previous Windows operating systems. The scheduled tasks associated with Windows Vista have been temporarily disabled in GUI. This option will be implemented in the future.

    You can use the Pre/Post commands option of Acronis True Image to work around the problem:

    - Run the Schedule Task wizard;
    - At the Set Backup Options step choose Set the options manually;
    - Click Pre/Post commands;
    - Choose the Use commands option;
    - Click the Edit button next to the After the backup process field;
    - Put in the Post command as specified below:

    Command: shutdown
    Working directory: C:\Windows\System32\
    Arguments: -s

    This command will automatically shut down the computer after the completion of backup process.

    Please note that the Validate backup archive upon operation completion option cannot be used with this workaround. The post command is executed right after backup completion, not after the validation procedure.

    You can also put in any other shutdown command parameter in the Arguments field. For the complete list of the parameters please see this Microsoft KB article.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  6. Tony Gamble

    Tony Gamble Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    When I try the above sequence I find the "The operation was successfully completed" box waiting for an OK mouse click.

    What is the way to avoid this, please? Presumably unless that box is clicked the Acronis will pause and the PC will never close down.

    In the command panel I have both the "Do not perform...." and the "Abhort the operation...." boxes unticked.

    Thanks in anticipation.

    Tony

    London UK
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Tony Gamble,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Could you please clarify, what options have you created scheduled task with?

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  8. Tony Gamble

    Tony Gamble Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    Marat,

    I have done this:-

    - At the Set Backup Options step choose Set the options manually;
    - Click Pre/Post commands;
    - Choose the Use commands option;
    - Click the Edit button next to the After the backup process field;
    - Put in the Post command as specified below:

    Command: shutdown
    Working directory: C:\Windows\System32\
    Arguments: -s

    And In the command panel I have both the "Do not perform...." and the "Abhort the operation...." boxes unticked.

    Can you be more specific about what else you would like to know, please.

    Tony Gamble
    London UK
     
  9. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Hi PeterPeter,
    A similar question has been brought up here with a workaround answer, in post # 3.
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Tony Gamble,

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    I'm sorry for not being accurate enough in my question. What I meant was what schedule options have you set for the task execution? Please see chapter 9 "Scheduling tasks" of Acronis True Image 11 Home User's Guide for details.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  11. Tony Gamble

    Tony Gamble Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    Thanks Marat,

    Download link for manuals not working.

    Will need to dig out my disk to pull them from there.

    Back later.

    Kind regards,

    Tony
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.